PPPoE DSL router setup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Zeonic_Warrior

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
7
I just switched to DSL from cable internet and am having some trouble setting up my router with the new internet service.

DSL modem-->Router-->Network with PC and PS3

ISP is ATT
DSL modem is a TP-Link 8616
Router is a D-Link DIR-628

I put my ATT username and password into the router but it never completes a connection to the internet. I was able to create a soft PPPoE gateway connection through my computer using my username and password, but I want my router to do this, not my PC. How do I get my router to connect directly to the Internet connection rather than having my PC connect? My setup would be fine as-is if I just had 1 computer but I also want to go online with my PS3, and it won't connect like my PC will, even after putting the username/password in.

I can give more info as needed. Thanks.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
connect the pc by cable directly to the modem
power cycle and post an ipconfig /all

user manual
http://www.tp-link.com/Resources/document/TD-8616_V7_User_Guide.pdf
http://www.tp-link.com/Resources/document/TD-8616_V7.0_QIG_7106503797.pdf

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to power cycle

“power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
  • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
  • Wait at least 1 to 5 minutes,
  • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
  • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Next switch on the router (if a separate device) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Zeonic_Warrior

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
7
ipconfig /all results:


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Moussa
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

PPP adapter Broadband Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadband Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 68.76.44.36(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.94.156.1
68.94.157.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-C6-63-F5-53
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::717e:77ba:b02e:7629%11(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.118.41(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268443590
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-32-E6-EF-00-1F-C6-63-F5-53
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3B-56-76-AD
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:444c:2c24::444c:2c24(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.94.156.1
68.94.157.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{708F4448-1EDB-429B-AA7E-824271BA7387}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{57D1E8C1-6EE8-46FC-BCD4-B61782428568}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{8397687C-09EE-4598-909B-0BA930985E82}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
and that connection is working
 

Zeonic_Warrior

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
7
Yes the connection is working. I am trying to get my modem to connect, though. Above is modem-->PC
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
what are the settings on the modem - do you have in bridge mode ?
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
and of you set the router to get a IP automatically - what happens

otherwise - what settings do you use on the PC to connect - dont post the username and password - but you will need other settings
 

Zeonic_Warrior

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
7
When I put the username and password into the router and save, it restarts. Then when I go to the status screen it says Network Status: Establishing (please wait...) but it never connects.

On my PC, Windows created a soft network adapter named "broadband connection 2" that takes my username and password (the same one i put into the router) and it connects to the internet.
 

Zeonic_Warrior

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
7
OK so I noticed that my router firmware was from 2008 so I updated it to the latest version. Surprise, now everything works as it should! Problem solved. Thanks for trying to help me out, etaf.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
You can mark your own threads solved using the
button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner.
:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top