1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

preparing for worst

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dzuydoan, Jun 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dzuydoan

    dzuydoan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    so it looks like my mobo is dead. the worst.

    i have the asus p4pe + intel p4 2.6mhz.

    the asus mobo p4pe isn't sold anymore. in fact i don't think they sell anymore socket 478 that are also chipset 845pe.

    i know this is bad, but ive forgotten a lot about pc's as i built this years ago.

    the only thing i know about my CPU is that its an intel p4 2.6.... the mobo i have for it is chipset 845pe, does that mean the only mobo i can get is chipset of 845pe?

    If anyone can shed some light would be much appreciated!

    thanks!
     
  2. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,354
  3. dzuydoan

    dzuydoan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    niceeee....

    however, say i wanted to get a new mobo, say, 865, or even 945 chipset... theoretically my CPU should work no? its still compatible as long as its socket 478.....

    is tehre any reason why that would be bad?
     
  4. cams-dad

    cams-dad

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    >According to the p4pe manual from asus' site its a Socket 478 with 512/256kb L2 Cache. The 845PE is actually the Intel chip set that that board used (IDE, USB, Misc Controllers), the CPU isn't dependant upon that. Now... if you can find a board that has the same Intel 845pe chip set you may be able to put your HD in and get it working with just a few driver reloads instead of having to start from scratch or doing a repair.


    Slow typist edit> not really. Actually did a repair over an Intel 845 to a VIA chip set last week. As long as don't mind doing the repair, it's not that big of a deal.
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    You can use any socket 478 board but again they are hard to come by. *65 and 875 chipsets would be fine but beyond that would be socket 775 and NG.
    And don't even think about changing hardware and using the same XP image file. There are ways to get that to happen, but it will run like crap.
     
  6. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,824
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - preparing worst
  1. MailHaulerBill
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    335
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/587287

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice