1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Presario CQ57 Runs Slow

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by undertheradar, Jul 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. undertheradar

    undertheradar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I have a Presario CQ57. It has AMD C50 Dual Core processor, 2GB RAM, running Windows 7 Home Premium. This thing is very slow. Even after a reformat and disabling unnecessary start up programs and uninstalling unwanted bundled programs, this thing runs super slow. I have had Word as the only running program and when typing, I still have to wait for the computer to catch up. What gives?
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    To help us help you,please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread. You can use the TSG Info to fill in your computer information in your user profile as well.
     
  3. undertheradar

    undertheradar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD C-50 Processor, AMD64 Family 20 Model 1 Stepping 0
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 1642 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6250 Graphics, 384 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 224176 MB, Free - 178288 MB; D: Total - 13993 MB, Free - 1704 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 3577
    Antivirus: ZoneAlarm Antivirus, Updated and Enabled
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,377
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the complete model number of that Compaq Presario CQ57 series laptop?

    There should be a dash and additional characters after CQ57.

    If you can't confirm the complete model number, advise us what the product number(P/N) is.

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    The AMD C-50 is a low-end dual core processor with a clock speed of only 1.00 GHz, so you can't expect to have blazing speed and performance with it.

    You're running Windows 7 64-bit in that laptop, so you should increase the amount of RAM to 4 GB.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. undertheradar

    undertheradar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Where do I find the product number at?
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,377
    First Name:
    Frank
    All HP/Compaq brand computers have a sticker that has a product number(P/N) and/or model number(M/N) on it.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1104238

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice