Presario CQ62 shuts down

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bero11

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
9
I have been having a problem turning on my presario cq62.
I plug my charger in and it turns on on its own. An orange screen with an esc option comes up but a few seconds later, it turns off on its own.
I tried pressing the power button to try and turn it back on but nothing happens.
The charger has an orange light which insicates it is charging.
I have no idea what is going on, please help!
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,071
The power button might be stuck down. Try flicking it with your finger a few times, with the battery and charger disconnected. Any change ?
 

bero11

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
9
Looked, power button wasnt the problem. No, it doesnt come om with the battery out. :(
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
23,674
So with just the cord attached to the wall and no battery in the laptop, pushing the power button does nothing?
If so, it likes like there is either a problem with the power adapter or the port where the power adapter plugs into the computer.
 

bero11

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
9
As soon as i put in the battery, it comes on. Stays on for a few seconds then shuts off. I know the charger works because it lights up orange and it charged another laptop. With no battery in the laptop and just the charger in, the light is white.
What to do?
 

bero11

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
9
It will start up just when i take out the battery and put it back in. Doesnt matter if its plugged to the charger or not. It starts up to the compaq logo screen then shuts down.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,071
It's starting to look like a motherboard problem. Can you get into the Bios ?
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,071
The Bios is where you can set up things like which device boots first, you may see something on-screen like 'press F2 to enter Bios setup. See if you can press whatever key it says for that laptop, if it works you should get a screen full of stuff.
 

bero11

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
9
Oh ok. It gives me the option to hit "esc" and i do, but nothing happens other than it shutting down.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,071
Ok, I'm out of ideas now. If I think of anything I'll be back.
 

bero11

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
9
What if water was spilled on it or something? Idk i cant think of anything either
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top