1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Prevent Network from appearing on list

Discussion in 'Networking' started by renouser, Sep 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. renouser

    renouser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Hi!

    This is my first post here . . . great site!

    My neighbor's secured wireless network (and it is certainly NOT on the "preferred" list in my computer) appears ahead of mine whenever I turn my laptop on! (XP) When both networks (mine and my neighbor's) appears on the available networks list, my neighbor's comes up first (I think because the name of his network starts with a "B" and mine starts with a "J") and my computer tries to connect with that one first. Then I always have to open the network box and manually connect to my own secured network.

    Is there anyway I can get my computer to just ignore that signal and ONLY connect to my network when I am in my home?

    THANK YOU!!!
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,788
    First Name:
    Terry
    Welcome to the forum. Didn't catch what wireless utility you are using, but there is probably an option to "don't connect to 'any' network" or to "connect to preferred networks only."
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    He didn't throw it. ;)

    WZC has the option Terry speaks of. What version and patch level of Windows are you using?
     
  4. renouser

    renouser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I don't know what version or patch level I'm using. How do I determine that? The computer is a 5-year Gateway, and the router is made by Belkin.

    Thanks soooo much for helping out!:)
     
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Well you basically got a 50/50 chance of getting it right. XP service pack 1 or XP servcie pack 2.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Right click on My Computer, and select properties. The patch level is displayed there.
     
  7. renouser

    renouser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Version 2002 / Service Pack 2

    THANKS!!!!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/623620

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice