Preventing Computer start-up after power loss

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tonycrossley

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
124
Howdy everyone,


I own a HP DC7800 Computer, currently running W 8.1 OS.


Occasionally there are blackouts (Power loss) in my area.
(Caused by Possums would you believe !)
The Computer restarts automatically after power is restored and a black screen appears with a Megabyte counter on it which stops around 8000.


Is there anything that can be done to prevent the Computer from coming on automatically ?.


I think there's an adjustment in 'Bios', but don't know how to find this is on the machine.
I want to restart the Computer manually, after power loss.


Because it's rather dusty where I live, a sheet is draped over the Computer when not in use.
If power loss occurred at night and was restored while I'm sleeping, the machine would overheat because of the sheet.


Goodbye Computer !.
Please be as detailed as possible with your answer.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,173
You should also consider getting a battery-backup unit for your computer.

------------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
7
If when not in use you turn off and cover with a cloth, I don't see what your problem is. But a UPS is a good idea to prevent uncontrolled restarts after a power loss.
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Also turn off the physical switch at the back on the power supply (If there is one) or at the wall (or unplug it).
That is why I only ever buy power strips with individual switches and fuses.
 

tonycrossley

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
124
What I meant to write, is how do I access these screens after the Computer's turned on ?.
If the Screens come up, I should be able to follow them.
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
There is a key to press, usually either the DEL key or F8
or with Dell computers F2 or F12

DURING power on.
Dells sometimes allow access afterwards.


Edited 16:41
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
7
Very few desktop computers have an application that runs once Windows is up. I recall only the higher end desktops from Compaq having access to the BIOS. But those were the type that were used as network desktops. And then again, not always.
The best thing you can do is check the brand web site.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,778
Try repeatedly tapping the F10 function key when you first power up the computer. That should eventually get you to the BIOS settings and not boot into Windows.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,593
As posted above on post 2, 8 and 12
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]Using Computer Setup (F10) Utilities

[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[/FONT]
Computer Setup can be accessed only by turning the computer on or restarting the system. To access


the Computer Setup Utilities menu, complete the following steps:

[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]1. [/FONT][/FONT][/FONT]Turn on or restart the computer. If you are in Microsoft Windows, click [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]Start [/FONT][/FONT]> [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]Shut Down [/FONT][/FONT]>
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
[/FONT]
[/FONT][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]Restart[/FONT][/FONT].
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]2. [/FONT][/FONT][/FONT]As soon as the computer is turned on, press F10 when the monitor light turns green to enter


Computer Setup. Press Enter to bypass the title screen, if necessary.
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]NOTE: [/FONT][/FONT][/FONT]If you do not press F10 at the appropriate time, you must restart the computer and again


press F10 when the monitor light turns green to access the utility.
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]3. [/FONT][/FONT][/FONT]Select your language from the list and press Enter.
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]4. [/FONT][/FONT][/FONT]A choice of five headings appears in the Computer Setup Utilities menu: File, Storage, Security,

Power and Advanced.

[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]5. [/FONT][/FONT][/FONT]Use the arrow (left and right) keys to select the appropriate heading. Use the arrow (up and down)


keys to select the option you want, then press Enter. To return to the Computer Setup Utilities


menu, press Esc.
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]6. [/FONT][/FONT][/FONT]To apply and save changes, select [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]File [/FONT][/FONT]> [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]Save Changes and Exit[/FONT][/FONT].

YOU want the advanced options
http://h20565.www2.hp.com/hpsc/doc/public/display?docId=emr_na-c01162201













 

tonycrossley

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
124
Followed all advice etc...Accessed ADVANCED section of Power in BIOS, setting was already in the OFF position. Setting was saved and then Plug was disconnected from Power Supply, waited 2 minutes and plugged back in. Computer restarted.
I don't want this to happen after a Power outage. What to do now I wonder ?.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,593
I have no idea of the problem
If you set this as shown


After Power Loss (off/on/previous state): Setting this option to:




◦ Off—causes the computer to remain powered off when power is restored.


◦ On—causes the computer to power on automatically as soon as power is restored.


◦ On—allows you to power on the computer using a power strip switch, if the computer is






connected to an electric power strip.




◦ Previous state—causes the computer to power on automatically as soon as power is






restored, if it was on when power was lost.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top