1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

preventing downloading

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by nancy123, Jan 28, 2000.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nancy123

nancy123 Thread Starter

probably a stupid question and not possible, but you guys have also had a solution in the past for my dilemma's.

i have win 95, netscape communicator 4.7.

is there any way to prevent a teenager from downloading onto my computer when he is on the internet.

i don't want to deny him access, i just don't want him to download anything onto my hard drive. (he messed the whole computer up last time!).

thanks for any advise.

2. sickly

sickly

I'm not an expert, but I think the first step would just be telling him that you don't want him downloading things to the hard drive without permission because it can introduce viruses and take up valuable hard disk space.

That probably won't stop the downloading unless you provide another option. Get a zip drive or other high-capacity drive, give him a pile of zip disks, and tell him to download his stuff on those instead of to the hard drive.

Just my opinion. Anyone else have any other ideas?

3. Paul Nagel

Paul Nagel

There is a setting in Security that prevents downloading of files. Go to Start>Settings>Control Panel and select Internet Options. Select the Security Tab and Custom Level. Part way down the Security Level page is a section marked Downloads which has the option of Enable/Disable file downloads.

4. NormanSmiley

NormanSmiley

If he knows what he is doing, he could always change those settings to allow downloads, though.

NormanSmiley's Advice Column
    Use at your own risk!!!