1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Preventing infection ... what do you use?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Duckman69, Jun 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Duckman69

    Duckman69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    i use trend micro anti virus, just started using registryprot(i love it), and im reading up on spywareblaster right now (looks intresting)... what do you use? what do you suggest as the best & whats it the best at spyware, anti virus, preventing installation / spreading of infection / etc.
     
  2. [FR]Platinum

    [FR]Platinum

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    i use Trend Micro Cylin also, i dont think its beat able. Keep using this great piece of software!

    Regards
     
  3. Duckman69

    Duckman69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    i was satisfied with trend micro for quite awhile, then i gota virus this morning, formatted after a back up to make things easy... then i redownloaded the virus(contained till you execute it) and realized trend micro doesnt have a scan for known patterns or virus when you right click, or anywhere in the program... then i downloaded AVG and scanned with that and it came up a clean program... well its not a clean program, and im trying to find something a little better @ scanning for known virus's / patterns does any1 know of any real good anti virus for this? thanks...
     
  4. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Duckman69, I though I covered that in your other post.

    Where a virus is compiled at run time, it can never be discovered by pre-scanning the file as it does not exist at that stage. Its just random code that gets converted to a virus at the time the compile is done. You just can't possibly detect what something is going to be.

    It's like looking at a box of Lego pieces unassembled and trying to ensure the box does not contain a model house. It does not, but depending on how it is put together, the outcome might be capable of being one.

    can you not understand the concept?

    Your problem is that you must be using some dodgy source files, for your problem to exist in the first place, might be the best place to start by avoidance.
     
  5. ViprXX

    ViprXX

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    392
    I just use AVG Free for virus protection, which is good enough for me. But I think one of the most important things you can do to avoid viruses and spyware is to not goto questionable/unknown websites (ie. porn sites, download sites, etc...). Just be causious about the sites you visit and what you click.
     
  6. dez_666

    dez_666

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    Try 'Avast! Anti-Virus'. I think it does a good job. I cant say i browse the cleanest of websites, and I havent gotten infected..so either me or the antivirus is doing a good job :D
    All I use for protection is Avast and Spybot. Other than that, I am just educated in how to avoid problems and how to diagnose them :p
     
  7. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,895
    NOD32, Comodo firewall, SpywareBlaster, Spybot, BOClean, Windows Defender and an anti trojan (not running in real time), plus Startup Monitor (a small Registry watcher).

    May just be overkill because I don't do file sharing, chat or 'social' sites (MySpace, YouTube etc.) and I definitely don't use IE, except for updates.

    Remember, they're all out to get you!
     
  8. Cyps

    Cyps

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    357
  9. Duckman69

    Duckman69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    thanks for the help all :D, does any1 else use deepfreeze by chance ? no offense you sound like a marketer for them tho, im doing my readin on some other prorams listed above 1st & then ima read up on deepfreeze but i just figured i'd ask, take care all thanks again
     
  10. Cyps

    Cyps

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    357
  11. Duckman69

    Duckman69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    thanks alot man, :/ sorry i was concerned you might have been a advertiser for the program you sounded so extatic about it though, although after reading 3 pages about it im convinced ill be posting the same way if ever i see a simmilar topic -- lol, cant wait to give this a try :D W00T W00T
     
  12. Duckman69

    Duckman69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    hey i got a question about depfreeze, whats up with not being able to save to the c: i ot 2 corrupt drives right now so i dont have a spare for this computer, whats up if i want to save things to my computer, is it not going to work, or its just a security compromise to the way deep freeze is meant to work?... should i format & create a partition & use part for deepfreeze & part for storage would that work alright? also if thats what i should do... im still not 100% clear on how deepfreeze works but im reading more & more as the day goes by but should my partition be like 10gb for deepfreeze / windows & the rest for my storage? or do i want a even split - or as much as i can spare for deepfreeze & just what i need for storage?... thanks in advance :D
     
  13. Cyps

    Cyps

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    357
    You nearly answered your own question. Consider how much space you need for the C: drive, this is the one you will freeze. It will contain all your applications by default including Deep Freeze. The next partition as you suggested can be used for storage and you can save and delete on it at will. It will not be affected in any way by Deep Freeze and what you save/delete to it will still be apparent on the next boot up.

    Speaking personally I have found 40gig for the C: drive has always been more than enough for my applications etc, and leave the second partition for storage. I would recommend however that you invest in an extra hard drive be it external or internal for storage, but that's just my opinion. If you have any further questions just ask.
     
  14. Cyps

    Cyps

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    357
    Forgot to mention that Deep Freeze gives you a choice at installation time as to which drives you want to freeze. Just select the C: drive and deselect the rest. You have to make the decision at this point as you cannot change it later without uninstalling then re-installing Deep Freeze again. It's no big deal, just thought you should be aware of it in advance.
     
  15. Duckman69

    Duckman69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    thanks for the help man i love the program ive been using it all day im gonna implement some self testing tomrrow and ill let you know how it goes ... i got some nasty virus's saved on cd ima load um up lol and see how she handles thanks for the advice i havent heard of deep freeze till today and i've been doin small tests all day and i friggen love it !!!! thanks soo much man i would have went on with my old ways for too long (it makes me feel safe goin back to warez sites now lol)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/590132

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice