Previous XP installation with new motherboard?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

C&C

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2004
Messages
15
I'm looking at upgrading a few components in my system, mainly the motheboard, memory (type and amount) and video card. Given that I already have a system with XP installed and it's configured for my current system, will XP boot up after I insert the new components? If not, is there any easy way to reconfigure XP (drivers, PnP detection, etc) with the new components?

In short, I'd prefer NOT to have to reinstall XP but if left with nothing else, then I guess that'll have to happen. :rolleyes:
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
plan on a reinstall,you may get away with a repair but back up what you need before you start
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
313
Dai is right.The hard drive needs to recognize the mobo,so look at a reinstall
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
1
Thats what i had to do today,

Been upgrading from an old ECS K7S5A mobo that got serious dmg/short or something on it since it actually caught fire ;)

So upgraded 1 machine here with a shuttle mobo, athlon 2500 Barton, which leaves other bottlenecks to deal with later when the $$ for it exists. this upgrade was emergency in nature.

I never tried updating the registry with the info that microsoft has on there support page for different chipsets etc since they also say at the same place this is not a supported method etc and other errors showing up from it can not be guarantied to be avoid or something like that.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
1,354
My friend just had his motherboard changed on his hp pavilion 751 n, and didn't have to reinstall his OS. I was at his house when the tech was there to change out the board. The machine was in warranty. I couldn't believe he didn't have to reinstall XP Home.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
18
Hi,

I have just changed my MOBO from a Soltek to a Syntax, XP took about 4 reboots to unmuddle itself and I had to reinstall a few drivers after putting on the mobo drivers, but once that was done my install has remained as stable as before.

I have actually changed MOBO twice on this install ( due to inadvertently cooking a couple of boards - don't ask!) and it has recovered each time.

regards

Karen
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top