1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Print Screen function

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by CuttingCrew, Sep 24, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CuttingCrew

    CuttingCrew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    I use a Wacom tablet for most of my photography editing and I recently bought one of the small ultra slim keyboards to use with it. It's a great keyboard but I can't get the Print Screen function to work with it.

    The leaflet that came with the keyboard shows the Fn+PrtSc for this function but that doesn't work and neither does the normal Win+PrtSc. I spoke with the distributor but that's all the information he has and has offered a refund. As I really like the keyboard, I wondered if there were any other combinations worth trying at all?
     
  2. Lozzy-loz

    Lozzy-loz

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    632
    You could try ctrl and PrtSc
     
    CuttingCrew likes this.
  3. CuttingCrew

    CuttingCrew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    No, that's not working. On my old standard keyboard, when I press the Win+PrtSc keys, my screen goes dark for a fraction of a second and I know the print screen has worked. I tried pressing a few keys on the small keyboard but have to be careful in case I lock anything up.
     
  4. Lozzy-loz

    Lozzy-loz

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    632
    I have noticed on my laptop the screen no longer goes dark for a second but the screen shot has been taken.
     
    CuttingCrew likes this.
  5. CuttingCrew

    CuttingCrew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Thanks for the help. I just tried my old full size keyboard again and the screen still dims. I've also tried a few more key combinations on the small keyboard but without any success.
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,973
    First Name:
    James
    Worse case, you can use snipping tool...

    But if you have a win key and prtscrn and it doesn't work, maybe exchange it?
     
    CuttingCrew likes this.
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,183
    First Name:
    Allan
    Try left Alt key + Prnt Scrn
     
    CuttingCrew likes this.
  8. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,386
    First Name:
    David
    how are you testing to see if these key strokes work or not?
     
    CuttingCrew likes this.
  9. CuttingCrew

    CuttingCrew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    I check in the Screenshots folder within my Pictures files. The screen also dims slightly if the command works.
     
  10. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,842
    First Name:
    Karen
    What is the make and model of the ultra slim keyboard?
     
    CuttingCrew likes this.
  11. CuttingCrew

    CuttingCrew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    577
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,973
    First Name:
    James
    If it is that one, try Win + Fn + F12 and see if that works.
     
    CuttingCrew likes this.
  13. CuttingCrew

    CuttingCrew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Brilliant, that's the one James. Screen still dims and the screen print goes safely into the Screenshots folder. Thanks everyone for all the help.
     
  14. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,842
    First Name:
    Karen
  15. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,386
    First Name:
    David
    Well on my machines there are only 2 screen shots in this Screenshots folder and they are very old.

    I use the Windows built in API for them.
    I tested making and pasting several screen shots and they are NOT listed in the folder.
    To see if your screen shots are working or not, just paste them into Word or some other program.
    Just because they do not get sent to this screenshot folder does not mean the copy and paste is not working.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1233380

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice