Print Screen Locks My PC

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

threelefts

If I hit the print screen key to take a screen shot. Not matter what I'm doing (looking at the desktop or playing WoW), my computer instantly freezes and you can not do ANYTHING but power it off and reboot.

This seems to have happened after I upgraded my RAM to 4GB (added 2 more 1GB sticks of the EXACT same RAM I was using), but I'm not entirely sure that's the problem (though I have been having a bunch of problems getting Vista to recognize it all, which I have learned is basically impossible).

So if anyone has any idea as to what I can do to fix this, PLEASE share, as I am a graphic designer and often take screen shots (have been using the Snipping Tool lately which seems to work ok).

I guess I'll have to pull out the extra RAM and test it. But it still seems really weird!

Thanks,
Dave

P.S.
I'm running the 32 bit Vista Home Edition. :)

threelefts said:
If I hit the print screen key to take a screen shot. Not matter what I'm doing (looking at the desktop or playing WoW), my computer instantly freezes and you can not do ANYTHING but power it off and reboot.

This seems to have happened after I upgraded my RAM to 4GB (added 2 more 1GB sticks of the EXACT same RAM I was using), but I'm not entirely sure that's the problem (though I have been having a bunch of problems getting Vista to recognize it all, which I have learned is basically impossible).

So if anyone has any idea as to what I can do to fix this, PLEASE share, as I am a graphic designer and often take screen shots (have been using the Snipping Tool lately which seems to work ok).

I guess I'll have to pull out the extra RAM and test it. But it still seems really weird!

Thanks,
Dave

P.S.