1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Print Server mystery

Discussion in 'Networking' started by waves, Jan 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. waves

waves Thread Starter

I'm a graphic artist and recently purchased a Hawking print server to house my 3 printers. I had a professional tech hook everything up ... he printed a couple of test pages, then a few text pages ... all 3 printers worked and he left. Later when I tried printing my higher resolution graphics ... not one of the 3 printers would work ... they just give me error messages. I tried plain text again ... and it works. Is there some kind of setting for high resolution work?

2. StumpedTechy

StumpedTechy

Could it be the printers don't have enough memory to handle your large resolution pictures?

I know where I used to work we had some with only 4 megs memory that did word docs fine but when you went to large graphics they printed out jibberish. When we went to 32 megs internal in them they printed out fine.

3. Bob Cerelli

Bob Cerelli

What is the error message?

Did printing the higher resolution graphics ever work?

What is the printer?

4. waves

waves Thread Starter

Hi everyone, thank you for all your help!

My printers have been doing high res graphics for me all along. It was when I connected them to the print server the problem started. It would only print text.

I called Hawking with the problem today and they said anything high resolution will overflow the buffer. Now I'm stuck with a worthless product! Shouldn't it have been listed on their website under stats that it couldn't handle high resolution printing?

5. Bob Cerelli

Bob Cerelli

Since it does not meet your requirements, can you return it to whoever sold it to you?

6. StumpedTechy

StumpedTechy