1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

print spool won't start manually or automatically. any help?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by scottc73, Jun 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scottc73

    scottc73 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    of course my computer is not recgonizing my printer either. everything was working fine, now it does not. when i try to start the print spool i get an error message 5, saying access denied. any help would be great . thanks
     
  2. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    Welcome to TSG:

    I don’t understand the print spooler thing. How are you spooling without a printer? Do you have the latest driver for you printer? What printer and OS?
     
  3. scottc73

    scottc73 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    actually i am just following the insructions from microsoft to remedy the xp printer problem. it says to go to the print spool option in admin tools and services and choose automatic in the print spool setting. then start print spool. it won't start . i am not familiar with this setting, so i have no idea. when i try to add printer, it says operation could not be completed. ever heard of this?
     
  4. scottc73

    scottc73 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    also, i do have the latest driver , and the printer has been working great until i started printing stamps from stamps .com.
    tech support is mon- fri so i was just checking if anyone had heard of this problem.
     
  5. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    It is more likely you need support from the stamp program maker. I guess you have a cache of stamps you have paid for and can’t easily uninstall it and not lose your stamps.

    Did you delete the printer in the printers folder and uninstall the old software before you installed the new printer driver?
     
  6. scottc73

    scottc73 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    actually, i did not try to install a new printer. i just retstarted my comp and the problem ocurred. xp is not recognizing the printer and will not let me add a printer. i checked for updated drivers and they are the same ones i already have. i have tried uninstalling the software and reinstalling several times. it still says operation could not be completed when i try to add a printer. i imagine stamps support will be my best bet, but i wanted to see if anyone has seen this before. thanks for the help.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,875
    First Name:
    Rob
    It won't print if the printer isn't recognised. Is the Printer USB? Do have XP drivers for the printer? If you go to Control Panel - system - hardware- device manager do you see any errors? does it list USB controllers?
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,875
    First Name:
    Rob
    Also is the printer working from other places - for example if you go to printers folder and rtry to print a test page? Do you not need a special printer to print stamps?
     
  9. scottc73

    scottc73 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    the device manager shows everything is working. when i try to use the wizard to install a printer , it says the rpc server is not working. does this help?
     
  10. scottc73

    scottc73 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    the printer is not working from any location at anytime.
     
  11. Foxy57

    Foxy57

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    I feel your pain and frustration! I cant install and print, I cant print, and my printer spooler wont start! Microsoft hasnt been of much help either! Does anybody know how to fix this??
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - print spool won't
  1. Bill P
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    381
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/141360

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice