1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

printer and camera do not work at same time

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sabledog, Apr 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sabledog

    sabledog Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    467
    my pc windows xp... the camera is canon powershot s50. my printer is a lexmark x83 all in one...both connected by usb... when i connect my camera to the computer i have to restart the computer for it to find the camera...when i do this..my printer does not work.. if i unplug the camera and restart the computer, then my printer will work.. both devices will not work at the same time...please help if you can... thanks
    sd
     
  2. sabledog

    sabledog Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    467
    i just got an email from canon..they said that my problem is there is a limitation with using usb to connect two imaging devices.. only one will work at a time.. is this true...
     
  3. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
    It sounds to me like you don't have some (either camera, printer or usb) drivers installed properly or at all. I've been using Canon digital cameras for years with computers/scanners/printers and have no problem. I'm using W2kPro so there shouldn't be any difference and I've used them with XP also and they've worked with that operating system. First of all, IF you have the Canon (TWAIN) drivers installed correctly, you wouldn't have to be re-starting the computer. What brand/model number system do you have?
     
  4. sabledog

    sabledog Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    467
    my pc is a dell 8200, windows xp...
    i have unistalled and reinstalled drivers several times...i worked on this for about 4 hours last night.. i even tried the wia drivers for the camera... still get the same result... my printer is connected to an usb hub and the camera is connected to the usb port in the front of the pc... this is really driving me nuts...
    im thinking if the problem cant be resolve, would a card reader be a cheap solution...
    thanks

    i just did a full reinstall of the computer the other day... but the same thing was happening before i did this..
     
  5. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
    Have you tried either one or both plugged into the rear usb ports instead of the front or hub? Are you using the WinXP drivers?
     
  6. sabledog

    sabledog Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    467
    i tried a litttle bit of everything... i just took the camera back and bought a sony.... works great.. no problems.. you would think when you spend that much money on a camera, you wouldnt have too many problems... the sony is great.. just plugged it in and started working.. no problems at all...took less than 5 minutes to get going... spent hours on the canon... thanks for your time and help... i guess we can consider this post closed.... thanks again...have a good weekend.
    sabledog..
     
  7. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
    Sorry that we didn't get that solved. I was on the Dell website and I couldn't find any reason why the camera wouldn't install. I went to the Canon site and found no problems there either. I don't know what to say except it's just the kind of thing that can happen when working with different items/componenets/software and computers. Next, somebody will finally see this and post they've got a Dell 8200, WinXP and a Canon S50 and it works fine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm glad you got it solved but I wish I had the exact same setup with your computer and camera in the shop to see what really caused this. Every now and then things aren't as they seem....................... good luck! A last minute thought..................IF anything like this happens again, try using the manufacturer provided cable and try using a tried and true cable of your own to see if there is a difference.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/216462

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice