1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Printer Setup Problems

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by BeyondBlondie, Jul 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BeyondBlondie

    BeyondBlondie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    I am trying to "Add Printer" to my system, and obviously I am not doing something correctly. The printer is an Epson Stylus C64. I think my error(s) is in the Control Panel, Printer, Add Printer - and then you go through a series of entries. I think this is where I have something wrong and the printer won't work. Any ideas anyone?!
     
  2. nethex

    nethex

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    The printer shows up in device manager as unknown device?
     
  3. BeyondBlondie

    BeyondBlondie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    No. I just think that I have something like LPT1 wrong, or something similar? If you click on Control Panel, then Add Printer, and then go through the series of entries. I think my problem is in here somewhere/I have put a wrong entry in perhaps. Do you know what I mean?!
     
  4. firestormer

    firestormer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,254
    Have you got an install disk? If so use that.

    Also what OS are u using and what type of connection?
     
  5. BeyondBlondie

    BeyondBlondie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    I've tried the install disk and that didn't do anything. I'm using Microsoft/6.0 and have cable modem/Comcast. Can you suggest anything else? Thanks so much.
     
  6. WendyM

    WendyM Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,042
    Which operating system are you using? Does your system detect the printer at all? In other words, when you plug the printer into the computer do you get a message that new hardware was found? When you go through the add printer wizard, is the box checked to automatically detect and install the printer?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/483604

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice