1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Printer won't scan

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jhuggins619, Feb 21, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jhuggins619

    jhuggins619 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Hello,

    I have a HP 4500 510n-z wireless printer that won't scan. It keeps saying NO SCAN OPTION CHECK Device documentation. I have I tried reinstalling the drivers and it still won't work. I was able to scan some papers before on my wife's computer but not on my. Can you please help
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,742
    First Name:
    Frank
    HP Officejet 4500 Wireless All-in-One Printer - G510n

    You haven't advised if your computer is running Windows XP or Vista or 7 or 8.
    There is a different "Troubleshooting - Scan - No Scan Options" article for each Windows version.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,137
    First Name:
    Liz
  4. jhuggins619

    jhuggins619 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    I have Windows 7 Enterprise 32 bit and my wife has Windows Vista Home premium 32 bit. The printer is attached to both of our laptops.
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,742
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the brand name and model name and model number of YOUR laptop?

    How did Windows 7 Enterprise 32-bit get installed in it?

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,137
    First Name:
    Liz
    Does the printer have two ports? What sort of cable runs from the printer to each laptop (parallel, USB) or do you have the printer attached to a printer switch?

    Or do you use one USB cord and keep unhooking from one computer and then attach it to the other?
     
  7. jhuggins619

    jhuggins619 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    It is a Toshiba Satellite L305 S5944 and I have tried wireless and with a USB cable. I am able to connect to the printer find. I just can't scan.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,742
    First Name:
    Frank
    Toshiba Satellite L305-S5944 (PSLB8U-0VN037) - originally came with Windows Vista Home Basic SP1 32-bit.

    You still haven't advised how Windows 7 Enterprise 32-bit got installed in it.

    You might consider downloading and running HP Print And Scan Doctor 4.6
     

    Attached Files:

  9. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,137
    First Name:
    Liz
    You have not answered how the printer is attached to two computers.

    Please answer my questions asked in post #6.
    1. Does the printer have two ports?
    2. What sort of cable runs from the printer to each laptop (parallel, USB)?
    3. Do you have the printer attached to a printer switch?
    4. Do you use one USB cord and keep unhooking from one computer and then attach it to the other?
     
  10. jhuggins619

    jhuggins619 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    1.The printer has four ports.
    2. As stated in my previous post I have a USB cable that I have used and I have tried it wireless and it still doesn't scan.
    3. No I do not have the printer attached to a printer switch.
    4. I received Windows 7 enterprise from a resource of mind, why does it matter where I got it from?
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,610
    First Name:
    Terry
    Because we do not provide help for pirated software. Do you have any reason to suppose that you have a legit genuine Windows 7 Enterprise?
     
  12. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,137
    First Name:
    Liz
    [content deleted by mod]
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,610
    First Name:
    Terry
    Liz, please wait until we feel that we are dealing with a genuine OS.
     
  14. jhuggins619

    jhuggins619 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Yes it is genuine, I had to put a product key in and everything. I got it from my work.
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,610
    First Name:
    Terry
    That's pretty unusual. Especially suspicious after your initial "a resource of mind." It, frankly, makes me suspicious that you have a friend in the IT department that provided it under the table.

    Let me consult with some other mods and admins.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1143560

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice