1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Printing causes win98 to crash.

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by thrasherg, Sep 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thrasherg

thrasherg Thread Starter

Hi Everyone, I aplogise in advance if this is a stupid question.. I am fairly new to PCs (have always had macs - wish I still had one!). I am running windows 98SE and have all the latest updates from the microsoft update page. I have my computer linked to a LAN network (lan contains 3 PCs and 1 Mac) with a printer connected to my computer which is avaliable to all computers (printer and file sharing is enabled). Everytime I submit a print job, I get the following crash. I spoke with Epson (had an epson printer) and they tell me its not their software but windows explorer that is the problem. I then installed an HP5100 printer and get the exact same crash, so clearly the problem is with explorer not the printing software. The error message is:-

Explorer
    This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down.

If the problem persists, contact the program vendor.

EXPLORER caused an invalid page fault in
    module SCHOOK.DLL at 018f:5678334f.
    Registers:
    EAX=037dfbcc CS=018f EIP=5678334f EFLGS=00010206
    EBX=830069d8 SS=0197 ESP=037dfbb0 EBP=037dfbd4
    ECX=00000000 DS=0197 ESI=830069d8 FS=978f
    EDX=65732030 ES=0197 EDI=00097dd1 GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    66 3b 0a 74 20 66 3b 4a 02 74 17 66 3b 4a 04 74
    Stack dump:
    65732030 56784333 037dffbc 567843c3 037dfbd4 830069d8 00000000 00000000 00000000 037dfbe4 66859347 830069d8 830069d8 037dfd38 00411419 0044e714