1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

prob with XP and Sony DCR-IP55E vidoe cam

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by youngwillie, Mar 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. youngwillie

    youngwillie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Hello,

    I would be very grateful to anyone who could help me with the following problem:

    I recently inherited a Sony DCR-IP55E. The problem being that although Windows XP says at the begining "the hardware has been installed and is ready to use" when I try to use "Movie Maker" or "Studio Nine" to edit there is no sign of any video camera.

    I dont know anything about cameras and not much about computers either. This happens both with my Desktop computer and my laptop too (both using XP) and is driving me bonkers.

    Any help would be very much appreciated.

    youngwillie
     
  2. mrss

    mrss Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    722
  3. youngwillie

    youngwillie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Yes thanks, I do have a manual.
     
  4. mrss

    mrss Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    Are you using the I-link (the non-Sony world calls it Firewire or IEE1394) cable or the USB cable? Many cameras with USB and firewire use the USB for transferring from the memory card, and firewire for transferring from the tape.

    If you used the USB cable, Windows Movie Maker won't work. Although XP will report it found the connection, Movie Maker expects to see the camera on a firewire cable. Most other video capture software expects firewire.
     
  5. youngwillie

    youngwillie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Hello,

    Yes it is connected via "Firewire"

    Thanks,

    youngwillie
     
  6. mrss

    mrss Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    Then I'm out of suggestions. Good luck.

    Oh well, one last try. Is there a card/tape switch or some other control for that mode on the camera?
     
  7. youngwillie

    youngwillie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks very much. Bye bye.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/698210

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice