1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

problem #2! video card freezes

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by griswold, Apr 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. griswold

    griswold Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    my video card will freeze up in games randomly almost like a memory bottleneck because just about everytime it will snap out of it, i never have to reboot or kill the game that i am running, i have also found that turning off specific options in the game either prevent it or make it happen alot less often. i am running a dual 2.4 xeon with a gig of ram, 2 40 gig 50,000 rpm seagate hdds, and a nvidia quadro 900 xgl maybe its a 980 cant remember, they are basically the same card anyways, but my point is my system is pretty decent and i would expect it to run games pretty good. any suggestions?? your comments are greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Fastlane247

    Fastlane247 It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    that is why the quadro is not really ment for gaming... nvidia gaming cards are the geforce fx series now... i personaly would not go anything under the geforce fx 5600 unless it is a geforce 4 ti if you choose to use nvidia. Quadro cards are not ment for gaming at all they are more for media type stuff.... i am sure if you get a new video card that will solve it
     
  3. Fastlane247

    Fastlane247 It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    sorry actually i should have asked what games you are trying to play because unless it is really high graphics that card should be fine as long as you dont have all the graphics in game and on the card cranked up
     
  4. griswold

    griswold Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    yea. i mean my first priority is to run maya, 3ds max, adobe premiere pro. games are very much secondary, but i would think that it would run games good enough! my card really doesnt like far cry. it is OK with unreal 2004, but it will freeze up still from time to time, my card doesnt mind painkiller demo at all, and my card loves wolfenstein,, it has never frozen up on that game, of corse it is kinda dated and the graphics arnt quite as taxing as say, far cry.. it wouldnt play doom III all that well either.of corse that could have been because its a beta
     
  5. Fastlane247

    Fastlane247 It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    hmm... ya it really should play the games with no problems ... i shouldnt have said it wont because that is not true at all. you can play unreal with a gforce 2 probably and your card is better then that... wish i had something eles for ya there
     
  6. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    50,000 rpm ?????? I think hdd only go up 15,000, are you from the future?
    Sounds like your playing on a CAD workstation, dual Xeon, Quadro, the card drivers might be set to optimize openGL which maybe your game is not.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218959

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice