problem attacking in WoW!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sweetsammy06

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
13
I have recently brought WoW and have installed it on my laptop and that was fine i also downloaded the updates fine the graphics are fine and sound is great and i can move my character around fine too but the only problem is that when i right click to attack a target nothing happens! i can select a target by left clicking but i cant attack! and i also cannot interact with NPC and get any quests its so frustrating as i cant level up if i cant attack anything please help me:(
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
251
Does the RMB work ok in other environments (i.e in the windows desktop etc)?

The only things I can think of would be either the RMB is broken (in which case it wouldn't work anywhere), an extremely unlikely driver issue, or you've got some settings in WoW incorrect. Try looking in the controls options in the WoW menu, see if you've got the RMB bound to something random.



Edit: Just re-read and you're using a laptop, are you using the touchpad or a separate mouse?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
251
Well, I wouldn't want to play on a touchpad anyhow (just out of personal preference), but it shouldn't remove use of the RMB like that.

Does it work outside of WoW?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
251
Ok, try looking in the controls options in the WoW menu, see if you've got the RMB bound to something that isn't attack/interact.
 

sweetsammy06

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
13
do you mean in the control panel? or do i click on the WoW icon as if i was going to play it?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
251
Press Esc when ingame, and somewhere in the menu that comes up should be "Options" somewhere within that should hopefully be a controls menu. I can't remember exactly, haven't played WoW in a looong time.
 

sweetsammy06

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
13
oh i see what you mean! i remember that it has video and sound options? then a control menu should come up right where there's lots of boxes that are either checked or unchecked right? so what box do i look out for?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
251
There should be a menu that has "bound" keys, see whether your RMB is bound to anything in there.
 

sweetsammy06

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
13
ok! ill try and look for that if i cant find it ill have a browse around the different menu's and then i look for RMB then what do i do? do i have to uncheckanything?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
251
Well, basically, look through your bound keys, and see what your right mouse button is bound to, and if it's something other than attack/interact, then you need to change it to that.

Do this by clicking on the bind for attack interact (whatever's there atm) and then pressing the rmb, that should change it so that your rmb is bound to attack/interact.
 

sweetsammy06

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
13
ok ill try that THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!!!!
ill brb im gonna try and look for that options menu and bound keys :D
oh one more questions what do i do if it already bound to attack/interact????
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top