1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem booting computer "hard disk drive" help plz

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by IceMan333, Nov 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. IceMan333

    IceMan333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Hi, when i boot up my other computer it is a black screen and says "Primary hard disk Drive 0 cannot be found, strike F1 to continue or F2 to enter setup utility." When i strike F1 it says something like "boot up failed press F1 to try again" what do i do? When i press F2 it takes me to a screen and Undery Hard disk drive 0 it says unkown and under hard disk drive 1 it says off.

    PS. My computer also makes alot of beeping sounds all of a sudden. Plz help me What is going on? Thankyou
     
  2. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    If your comfortable taking the cover off make sure the power connection to the hard drive is secure. Also make sure that the IDE cable to the drive and Motherboard is secure.

    When you went into setup (pressing F2) who is the Bios manufacturer (like AMI, Award, Phoenix) and what exactly is the pattern of the beeps.
     
  3. IceMan333

    IceMan333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    I believe its pheonix i think. The beeps are continuous. It sounds like a disk skipping followed by a fant beep
     
  4. IceMan333

    IceMan333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    what exactly happend was, i tried to long on computer through my admin name, then comp froze, so i had to manually cut it off, thats basiclywhat happened.
     
  5. IceMan333

    IceMan333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    plz anyone
     
  6. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    When you get the message press F2 and go into setup. Look for the IDE settings. There should be something that says Primary IDE master (usually under the Main Menu) see if your hard drive is listed there (probably not). Makes sure the setting is for "auto". If it isn't change it to auto, save changes and you should reboot.

    If this doesn't help you do need to unplug the system, open the case and check connections as I posted above.

    Do you only have one hard drive? Is there any other drive (including a CDROM) attached to the same cable?
     
  7. IceMan333

    IceMan333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    I tried opening comp. and making sure everything was secure. It was. It didnt do anything. Also I think it is at Auto cause when i click on it it says auto but when it shows its status it says "unkown" there is also another primary driver called "1" not "0" its status is off. I think i have a reg hard drive and another called a slave i think, not sure though. Not to "into" computer to know what that means thx
     
  8. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    What happens if you change the one called "1' to auto?
     
  9. IceMan333

    IceMan333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    nothing it stays same. I looked on line at theres 4 little like letted A B C D. If there lit in special configuration. So i looked at what each configuration and it sayed either "other" or "ribbon cable not secure" So i guess this means im going to have to try another hard drive, see if it works. If it does then i guess its my hard drive. If it doesnt then its most probobly a cable prob right?
    Your thoughts?
     
  10. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    It might be easier to try a new cable first. When you checked inside the case do you have two hard drives attached to the same cable?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/302216

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice