1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem... Good connection, no internet.

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by CoRoMo, Dec 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CoRoMo

    CoRoMo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    This PC has been giving me some issues, but now it can't utilize any internet connection. Last week, it started to have some connectivity issues, and then it just lost all internet. I don't really know what to do or try at this point. I've tried to connect wirelessly and directly with two completely separate connections/ISPs. It simply will not connect. It will certainly show a good connection each and every way that it is configured, but no internet. I've even got other computers on both of these connections working flawlessly. So I'm having to download these utilities onto a flash-drive, then get them onto the problem machine so that I can actually get these logs to you.

    I've scanned for viruses, malware (although Malwarebytes needs to be updated but can't), I've cleaned temp files, scanned for spyware, but all scans turn up nothing.

     

    Attached Files:

  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    moved to networking forum

    is this a tower or a laptop
    is the wireless switched on ? -

    can we see an ipconfig /all - three ping tests and an xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. CoRoMo

    CoRoMo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    This is a tower PC.

    I've gone back and fourth between enabling the wireless connection and the direct LAN connection on two separate networks. Both networks are connected to other PCs, and they are doing fine. It is just this machine having issues with these quite operable networks. The PC I'm posting through here is on one of the networks in fact. Right now, the problem PC is on the same network this one is: ODC_FTC

     

    Attached Files:

    • SS.jpg
      SS.jpg
      File size:
      150.3 KB
      Views:
      4
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the important ping now is google

    would you ping google.com please and post results

    you connected you can connect to the router and you can also get onto the internet by using the IP of this website -
    need to see if you can ping a name
    if not
    then its a DNS issue

    and i would suggest putting google open dns onto the wireless connection

    heres how


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Google public DNS

    Google public DNS
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/

    Theres also a link on how to setup those DNS IP address
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. CoRoMo

    CoRoMo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    I didn't realize that I had duplicated that one log. I deleted the text file of the Google ping so I went back to get it, but now for some reason, there is a clipboard issue and I wasn't able to copy/past from the CMD. So this is a screen shot of the ping.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
  7. CoRoMo

    CoRoMo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    148







     

    Attached Files:

  8. CoRoMo

    CoRoMo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    The internet performance from this machine gradually got worse over the past 6 months or more. It was very slow online and would sometimes freeze up. The employee had to operate through both IE and FF because he couldn't access any attachments from a Yahoo email through EI. He could with FF, but the issue progressed to the point that neither browser is able to use any network, whether or wireless or cable.

    Like was mentioned, good network connections, just no internet access.
     
  9. CoRoMo

    CoRoMo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    When IE or FF are attempted, they can never load a page. They just spin until they time out.
     
  10. CoRoMo

    CoRoMo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    148
  11. CoRoMo

    CoRoMo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    bump #4
     
  12. CoRoMo

    CoRoMo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    148
  13. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,872
    First Name:
    Karen
    I'm sorry but we do not work malware on company machines. Please refer to this sticky post at the top of this forum:

    http://forums.techguy.org/virus-other-malware-removal/943214-everyone-must-read-before-posting.html

    IMPORTANT NOTE REGARDING CORPORATE/COMPANY OWNED COMPUTERS

    Please do not request assistance for corporate/company owned computers. Many changes/deletions are made during the clean up process, some of which may involve uninstalling programs, deleting folders/files, changing settings and/or removing policies etc. As we have no way of knowing for sure if these are actually needed for company operations, malware issues in these cases should be handled by your own IT Departments in order to avoid any undesirable results.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030950

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice