1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem Hosting FLACs and SHN Files for Download

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by eltopo76, Jul 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. eltopo76

eltopo76 Thread Starter

I'm new to web developing and have only been running my website for about three months. Usually I host MP3 files at my site, but I've enlisted the help of someone who records concerts in lossless FLAC and SHN files. He has uploaded a handful of concerts to my FTP, and I can take the files directly off the FTP, play them and burn them--the files seem fine. However, when I create links on test pages for my site, Internet Explorer cannot download them, and gives the error:

"Internet Explorer cannot download [file name w/flac extension] from [website]. Internet Explorer was not able to open this Internet site. The requested site is either unavailable or cannot be found. Please try again later."

I have had others try this from their computers, and they receive the same error.

I know the link paths are correct. Thinking it might be a problem with the folder permissions, I have tried putting the FLAC files in my folder with the rest of my MP3 files, which I normally use, but they still can't be downloaded. From this FLAC folder I've tried downloading an MP3 file, as well as a .txt file that my concert-recording-friend uploaded, and those download fine. So I would think it would be a problem with the file format or the file size. I have hosted large .wav files on my site and the bandwidth should be large enough to handle these FLAC files (500,000 MB), so this has me stumped. Any ideas?

I'm using Windows XP, and Macromedia Dreamweaver 8.

2. covert215

covert215 Banned