1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem installing drivers for GeForce 6800 xt

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by veribaka, Jul 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. veribaka

    veribaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    I recently upgraded my machine to an amd 3200+. Everything works fine except with my graphics card. Whenever I install the latest nVidia's drivers, it seems that the monitor stops detecting the signal from the board, it goes black. I have previously installed Kaspersky 6.0 and the motherboards' (ASRock 939Dual-SATA2) drivers.

    Besides the graphic card, the processor and the motherboard the rest of the pieces are the same. Ethernet card, Hercules Muse soundcard, 40gb Samsung hdd, 120gb seagate hdd, floppy, dvd re-writer witemaster, one 256 ram ddr module and a 512 ram ddr module.

    I am currently working on Windows XP Home Edition with all updates.

    So, what could it possibly be?
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,372
    What brand and wattage of power supply do you have?
     
  3. veribaka

    veribaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Oh, I forget, I also bought a new power suppy to acomodate the graphics card. A LC-Power 550w.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,372
    Are you installing the driver on a CD or using an nvida reference driver from nvidia's site?
     
  5. veribaka

    veribaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    I'm using the drivers from the website. I've also tried the drivers from the cd though!
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,372
    Can you boot into safe mode and see if it boots then.

    I would tend to think the driver is defaulting to a res that the monitor cannot support.

    You can also try an older nvidia driver from the archive.

    Would this by chance be a xfx brand card?
     
  7. veribaka

    veribaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Ok, I'm just reinstalling my OS from scratch (again). I'll try updating everything and then do that :)

    I tried 84.1 (I think) driver too, same result :s

    Yes, it's an xfx card.
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,372
    Install in this order.
    1 Install os
    2 Update to latest service pack; win2k sp4 xp sp2
    3 Install chipset / mb drivers
    4 Install sound, nic, raid, drivers as necessary
    5 Install video driver last

    Note if you are using win2k, update to directX9c right after you install your os then install the rest of the drivers.
     
  9. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,372
    BTW xfx is probably the most problematic video card mfg. Cards by leadtek, bfg, evga, etc cost more for a reason; you install them and they just work.
     
  10. veribaka

    veribaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Sorry, english isn't my native language, so I kind of don't understand all terms. I don't understand "nic" or "raid".

    BTW. That seems to be the order which I have been following to install everything, except for the chipset, nic and raid drivers.

    Now I know that, unfortunately my budget wouldn't allow me another card :D As long as I get this one to work I'm pleased :)
     
  11. veribaka

    veribaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Just finished installing all drivers, going fot the video drivers now...
     
  12. veribaka

    veribaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Just got the same problem again :(

    I'll try to boot in safemode like you said, but what should I do afterwards?

    I was able to boot in safemode, it detects everything, everything seems to be working fine. Only when I boot normally it seems to mess up...
     
  13. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,372
    Are you using an old monitor by chance?
     
  14. veribaka

    veribaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Kind of, it's a Fujitsu-Siemens LCD 4613 FA.
     
  15. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,372
    I am thinking that when you load the driver, the screen res defaults to a value that is out of the monitors ability to display.

    Some suggestions.
    1 Try another monitor from a different system.
    2 If that fails, open the case and disconnect all drives except your boot or system drive. Now try to boot. If it works now, that points at a power problem. When you load the driver the card will demand more wattage.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/485596

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice