Problem Installing Netgear FA311 Ethernet Card On XP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

madkilla

Thread Starter
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
34
Hello,

I am having trouble getting this device to work, i have the driver disc but am unsure how to get it to work, there is a yellow exclamation mark by it in the device manager and tried to update driver through that but it did not work.

Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2003
Messages
894
Hi,

In Device Manager

Remove the device. do not allow system to reboot.

Now shut down and remove the network card physically from the computer.

Restart computer and then shut down again.

Re-install card, reboot and then insert disk when prompted.

If necessary try the card in a different PCI slot.

Post back with any error messages and at what stage they occur.

minor edit to add "reboot" after re-install card


hth

Ceri
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
FA311's do not work on some chipsets unless the BIOS gets updated. I believe this was a problem on some of the ASUS motherboards with a Duron CPU's and earlier versions of the VIA chipset.
 
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
2,612
you cpuld try popping the Network card in a differnt PCI slot to see if it does not create a conflict there.
 

madkilla

Thread Starter
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
34
the card is actually onboard so I can't remove it.

I know it does work as it has worked in the past. It is only now that I have re-installed windows that the problem has occured.

I know that there is no fault with the internet connection as my brother's pc is working fine and we share the same connection.

The board I have is an ASUS A7V8X.

I believe the ethernet card is a broadcom.

any other suggestions will be very much welcomed :)
 
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
2,612
Have you looked on the Asus site and downloaded the drivers for your chipset and network card?
 
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
2,612
The onboard card is an AsusTek Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated controller, not a netgear FA311.
 

madkilla

Thread Starter
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
34
thanks

Do you have a link for the drivers? And also, how do I install it once it has downloaded
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
you said you reformatted what do you mean? did you reinstall you os XP or what. your mobo comes with a disk thatys asus on it you will need to load those right after you reformat and install you os. that disk will have the drivers to operate you net card. you do not need to d/l anything unless you lost that disk.
 

madkilla

Thread Starter
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
34
I didn't re-format, I just re-installed windows.

My mate who built my machine for me never gave me an asus disk, I am sure he will have it but am having a job trying to get hold of him at the moment, I think he may have gone on holiday.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Messages
1,742
http://www.asus.com.tw/support/download/item.aspx?ModelName=A7V8X&Type=Latest

This link is for the A7V8X mobo only! Make sure that is the EXACT model mobo you have (not the A7V8X-X, A7V8X-MX, A7V8X-MX SE). There ARE differences in the updates. You should go to Device Manager, Update Driver, direct to the place where you downloaded and unzipped the files and install. Disable any anti-virus/firewall apps BEFORE updating drivers.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Still is just a little to fast for me. Yes make SURE that is your board before you do this. I would still that that disk fro your mate just so you have it, that way you can get up and running without d/l anything, then update at your leisure.
 

madkilla

Thread Starter
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
34
Ive downloaded the file but im not too sure how to use it, ive unzipped it to the desktop and ive tried to update the driver but its saying that it cant install.

Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Not a XP person but i'll assume its similar to 2000, did you unzip to a folder on your desktop? go into device manager and update driver for network adapter point to your folder on DT
 

madkilla

Thread Starter
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
34
I tried to update the driver and it keeps saying, Cannot install this hardware.

Thanks
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top