Problem Installing Winflash

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kittyannabella

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
9
Hi there! So I have attempted now several times to install winflash on my windows 7 Asus Model: U52F.
Every time regardless of which version (even the oldest ones) and for every windows, and every update date it keeps giving me the error halfway through the install "The Permission is too weak to install this program!"
After several attempts at it.....I've given up and am seeking help. Help please!
 

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
10,340
Ate you attempting to update the BIOS because of a needed function? Or to fix a problem?
 

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
10,340
May I ask who told you updating the BIOS would speed things up? That's not really true....BIOS is simply to enhance compatibility with new hardware.

I would be glad to assist you in trying to speed up your computer via other means if you want.

Last resort is a bios update.

What's the full model number of the pc?
 

kittyannabella

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
9
May I ask who told you updating the BIOS would speed things up? That's not really true....BIOS is simply to enhance compatibility with new hardware.

I would be glad to assist you in trying to speed up your computer via other means if you want.

Last resort is a bios update.

What's the full model number of the pc?
Well it's my friend that actually rebuilt the laptop for me. but the model # is just what i gave in the description. U52F Asus laptop. If you could give some other ways i would truly appreciate it!!
 

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
10,340
That pc is getting old, but I had one just like it. It should have 1st gen i3 or i5 CPU and around 4-8 GB of RAM. It shouldn't be REAL slow.

May I ask if its slow only in certain tasks?

Can you confirm which CPU and how much RAM you have?
 

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
10,340
Also hold windows logo key + R , type into box
Msconfig
Press enter

Navigate to the STARTUP tab

Reply back here IN A VERTICAL LIST, the names of all the services that ARE CHECKED and whether they are set to AUTOMATIC or MANUAL
 

kittyannabella

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
9
[QUOTEand ="metallica5456, post: 9184422, member: 777189"]Also hold windows logo key + R , type into box
Msconfig
Press enter

Navigate to the STARTUP tab

Reply back here IN A VERTICAL LIST, the names of all the services that ARE CHECKED and whether they are set to AUTOMATIC or MANUAL[/QUOTE]
The computer is i5. And it has 6gb of RAM.
The things it is listing is:
Intel Common User Interface
Intel Common User Interface
Microsoft Windows Operating System
Advanced System Care 9
Avast Antivirus
Spybot-Search and Destroy

It does not say whether or not it is automatic or manual. I apologize.
 

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
10,340
I'm sorry I left out a piece of instructions. You have to make the screen bigger and expand the columns sometimes.

These are ALL that's checked?

Advanced system care needs to be uninstalled

It's most likely doing more damage to the computer than good.

All those utilities that promise to speed up your computer are useless.

Windows does a good job of managing files and system settings.

As much as I hate to say it, Spybot needs to be uninstalled too. It's not been updated for several years and has been replaced by malwarebytes.

Go here and download the FREE version of mbam.
 

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
10,340
It may take a bit of work to repair any possible damage that might have been done by advanced system care. I'm willing to help you if you're willing to put in the time. :)


Also your system has i5 and 6gb of RAM so it should not be slow.
 

kittyannabella

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
9
It may take a bit of work to repair any possible damage that might have been done by advanced system care. I'm willing to help you if you're willing to put in the time. :)


Also your system has i5 and 6gb of RAM so it should not be slow.
yeah it shouldnt be slow but the problem is that it is! my friend thinks it could possibly be a hardware problem and not a software problem. he thinks it could possibly be the motherboard.
Ive uninstalled those programs and now would just like to do anything to get it faster. i have lightroom (im a photographer, main reason i have this computer) and every single time i open it it's super slow and freezes up on me. its frustrating. so yes i would really really appreciate some help! I'll be patient :)
 

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
10,340
All the programs I recommended you uninstall have been uninstalled , correct?

Have you downloaded and installed Mbam? Let me know when you have.

Your friend MIGHT be correct, however using the advanced system care most likely wreakes havoc on your operating system.


Open a command prompt with Administrator privileges.
(Click start type in CMD in the search bar...at the top of the results right click command prompt and select RUN AS ADMINISTRATOR)

Type into the command prompt window

SFC /SCANNOW press enter

Let me know the results of the SFC
 

kittyannabella

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
9
All the programs I recommended you uninstall have been uninstalled , correct?

Have you downloaded and installed Mbam? Let me know when you have.

Your friend MIGHT be correct, however using the advanced system care most likely wreakes havoc on your operating system.


Open a command prompt with Administrator privileges.
(Click start type in CMD in the search bar...at the top of the results right click command prompt and select RUN AS ADMINISTRATOR)

Type into the command prompt window

SFC /SCANNOW press enter

Let me know the results of the SFC
I have uninstalled all of those programs yes! Sorry I have been out of town the past week. I have downloaded and installed Mbam as well.
I will get you the results of the SFC asap.
 

kittyannabella

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
9
How is the computer performing as of now?
I've had it on and idle for a good 2 hours now so it's running alright. However it becomes extremely slow when opening any apps especially Lightroom which as mentioned earlier is my main reason for having this thing ha.
I performed the scan...or attempted to. It was verifying very slow. Stopped at 53% and said "Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation."
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top