Problem: Media Test Failure

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Pi314

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
7
I've been attempting to solve a computer problem, but I'm stumped.

I few weeks ago, I dropped my laptop (Toshiba Satellite L300D). After I did that, it stopped working properly. Soon afterwards, I used the recovery disk to reset the computer to factory standards, but it did seem to yield any useful results. After using the recovery disk, my computer stopped booting windows and started giving me a black screen with the following written:

For Realtek RTL 8101E/8102E PCI-E Ethernet Controller v1.07 (080320)
PXE-E61: Media Test Failure, check cable
PXE-M0F: Exiting PXE Rom

I was told there might be a problem with the hard drive, so switched the current hard drive out with a compatible hard drive, but still I received the same message. I opened up the hard drive and check all the connect and everything seems to be connected properly. Anyone have any ideas what the problem could be and how to fix it? Thanks.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
227
I may not be and expert but were did it drop? like this might have to do with battery life.
 

Pi314

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
7
I've had it plugged into a wall outlet while using it, so I don't think it's that.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,365
The text you're seeing on screen means it is trying to boot over a network.

With the original drive fitted changing the 1st boot device to Hard Disk Drive (HDD) in the Bios Setup may fix it as long as the HDD is not damaged.

When you first switch it on tapping the ESC key may get you into the Bios Setup, F2 and F8 are also used, or it might tell you which key to use onscreen.
 

Pi314

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
7
Unfortunately, I've already tried that with both my old and new hard drives, but to no avail (ie same message with both hard drives).
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,365
So even with HDD set as 1st boot device in the Bios nothing has changed ?

It's possible the original HDD was damaged by the fall.

Is there anything on the new HDD ?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top