1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem: Media Test Failure

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Pi314, Dec 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pi314

    Pi314 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I've been attempting to solve a computer problem, but I'm stumped.

    I few weeks ago, I dropped my laptop (Toshiba Satellite L300D). After I did that, it stopped working properly. Soon afterwards, I used the recovery disk to reset the computer to factory standards, but it did seem to yield any useful results. After using the recovery disk, my computer stopped booting windows and started giving me a black screen with the following written:

    For Realtek RTL 8101E/8102E PCI-E Ethernet Controller v1.07 (080320)
    PXE-E61: Media Test Failure, check cable
    PXE-M0F: Exiting PXE Rom

    I was told there might be a problem with the hard drive, so switched the current hard drive out with a compatible hard drive, but still I received the same message. I opened up the hard drive and check all the connect and everything seems to be connected properly. Anyone have any ideas what the problem could be and how to fix it? Thanks.
     
  2. axoli45

    axoli45

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    I may not be and expert but were did it drop? like this might have to do with battery life.
     
  3. Pi314

    Pi314 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I've had it plugged into a wall outlet while using it, so I don't think it's that.
     
  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,173
    First Name:
    Allan
    The text you're seeing on screen means it is trying to boot over a network.

    With the original drive fitted changing the 1st boot device to Hard Disk Drive (HDD) in the Bios Setup may fix it as long as the HDD is not damaged.

    When you first switch it on tapping the ESC key may get you into the Bios Setup, F2 and F8 are also used, or it might tell you which key to use onscreen.
     
  5. Pi314

    Pi314 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Unfortunately, I've already tried that with both my old and new hard drives, but to no avail (ie same message with both hard drives).
     
  6. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,173
    First Name:
    Allan
    So even with HDD set as 1st boot device in the Bios nothing has changed ?

    It's possible the original HDD was damaged by the fall.

    Is there anything on the new HDD ?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030394

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice