Problem opening specific programs

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

veribaka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
79
My dad is a teacher, and to aid him he purchased a couple of dvd programs which install fine, without any problem, but then fail to open (perhaps due to the security system of the dvd). I was told by technical support that I am not allowed to have Daemon Tools and whatnot installed (which I don't) and that it was probably the firmware that didn't support this dvd's security program.

The DVDRW is a PHILIPS SDVD8441. Installed this firmware, but to no use.

There is amazingly no driver for this model at the Philips firmware/drivers website so I had to google for it.

Can anyone give me a hand here? My dad can't help but feel he wasted his cash.

PS. Apparently the same model of laptop was purchased by a friend teacher, and the program works fine on that. The guys at the store explained that it had more software and whatnot since it was a showcase model.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
what happens when you try and open them

are they any prereqs on the DVD program box - thatyou need - like .NET

what are the programs called

what OS do you have XP ,, win98 -
 

veribaka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
79
Nothing at all, the program just won't load.

Nope, the only thing the box says is that some dvd players might not be compatible with the copyright protection program.

The programs are portuguese but :)...: Escola Virtual - Língua Portuguesa 5º Ano; Escola Virtual - Língua Portuguesa 6º Ano.

Win XP Home Edition.
 

PCG342

Banned
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
772
It sounds to me like a case of "international DVD" problems... could be wrong.
Region codes are... well... tricky. I can't think of a legitimate workaround.
 

veribaka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
79
Both the dvd and the laptop were purchasedin Portugal, and the company that made the dvd is portuguese as well, can that still happen?
 

veribaka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
79
Hehe, me either :)

The technicians think it's something wrong with windows and are at the moment reinstalling it.

If that doesn't work, can anyone point me at some trustworthy place for firmware?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top