1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem reinstalling ME

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Jyccyj, Jan 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jyccyj

    Jyccyj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Hullo
    I am having to reinstall my entire system and have a Recovery CD, no floppy, to do so.
    I am presented with the option "Recover hard disc partition and software".
    "Create Primary DOS Partition" comes up then the drive integrity is verified and formatting takes place.
    Installing the software comes next ,makes an attempt at starting then produces "!!!!Error F3D failed!!!"
    I thought there was something corrupt about the disc but there isn't.
    Is there anything I can do or do I have to see an expert which will cost.
    I would appreciate any suggestions.
     
  2. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    With either brand, you must have the original hardware installed only. Add-in hard drives and cards must be unplugged off the mainboard. Additionally, there must be only one (1) Primary DOS partition on the Hard Drive using 100% of the drive, if it was that way it came from the factory.

    Please let the forum know of your hardware configuration as well as the computer brand you're using and we can further advise you.
     
  3. Jyccyj

    Jyccyj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks for your response.I am using a Toshiba Satellite 1800 700 laptop 850MHz Pentium III and System ME. It is approximately18mths old.When purchased it came with only one recovery disk,one disc with utilities and drivers. There was no floppy disc and no Windows ME disc.
    As I said the recovery disc fails .Hope you can help.
    Thanks
     
  4. JJJecj71

    JJJecj71

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Hi Jyccyj
    Why not just creat a start up disk?

    Goto the control panel and add/remove and then startup tab and creat one but then you will still need a window disk or recovery disk to reinstall windows again.
     
  5. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Also it may be because there are pregrams on your HDD. you may need to bak up all sensitive data, then format first. Email Toshiba tech support for help with your issues.

    I have gotten bad Restore CDs from the factory new with new computers. Call toshiba for an inquiry about a new restore CD for your computer unit

    Got extended warrantee?

    you may need to request and consult a users manual for your computer on Recover procedures.
     
  6. meld

    meld

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    We have the same problem, did you resolve it, if so the information to resolve the problem would be most usefull
     
  7. Jyccyj

    Jyccyj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Sorry I can't be of any help as the problem was never resolved.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112611

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice