problem removing a registry cleaner

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

trfoster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
27
compaq presario 1400,AMD-K6(tm)3Dprocessor,248.0mb ram.Display Adapter Trident blade 3D/mvp4(63). microsoft windows 98,second edition 4.10 2222A. I run a registry cleaner on my computer which would only fix 20 out of 56.I didnt want to have to pay to get the rest fixed so i didnt upgrade to the full version.I've tried to delete & remove the registry cleaner programes & files and i keep getting this message and nothing happens. WISE UNINSTALL INVALID install.log file.also i need to fix the 36 remaining problems on my computer can anyone help?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
You will find that no registry cleaners find the same exact items. Therefore, you may or may not get rid of specifically 36 items.

You don't mention going to Control Panel add/remove programs? Did you try that for the trial registry cleaner?

Both JV16powertools and RegCleaner 4.3.0.780 are by Jouni Vuorio. I personally like RegCleaner better because it doesn't try to do everything. (It should also get rid of the registry cleaner that you are having problems with).

http://www.aplusfreeware.com/categories/LFWV/RegCleaner.html

sekirt
 

trfoster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
27
ok,couch master, got the windows registry repair pro from the JV 16 power tools. done the scan came up with 213 errors found. I corrected all of them.But now i have blue screens coming up with ,WINDOWS: A FATAL EXCEPTION OE HAS OCCURED AT 0028:C0005338 IN VXD VMM (01)+00004338.The current application will be terminated. CPQNPCSS: This program has performed a illegal operation and will shut down.CPQNPCSS CAUSED AN INVALID PAGE FAULT IN MODULE KERNEL32.DLL AT 0167:bff85491.PROPELAC: CAUSED AN INVALID PAGE FAULT IN MODULE KERNEL 32.DLL AT 0167:bff8548b.registers:EAX=00000000cs=0167.EIP=bff85486. EFLGS=00010286.EBX=00000000SS=016f. ESP=0063e8f8.EBP=0063eaoc. ECX=0063eb30. PS=016f.ESI=00000000. FS=336fEDX=818ee308. ES=016f. EDI=81940000.GS=0000 BYTES AT CS:EIP:fc bf 68 02 00 00 80 68 11 00 01 00 e8 38 bf fe . STACK DUMP: 00000000 00000000 81dfb4d4 0749790c 8193b728. 79fb7a36 b7280147 1e978193 1ee71e27 000c1e96. ffe281c3 00000000 00000000 0063e958 bff740bd 00000409. A fatal exception OE has occured at 0028:D72833C9 in VXD FIO LOG (01)=00001099.The current application will terminate. THIS program has performed an illegal operation and will shut down .KERNEL32 CAUSED A GENERAL PROTECTION FAULT IN MODULE USER.EXE at 0003:000035f6. AN this is just some of them. SEKIRT yes i did try to go through control panel, add&remove programs.Thats when i would get the WISE UNINSTALL:INVALID INSTALL.LOG file.Even after doing the other registry cleaner i still cant remove it. the cleaner took the icon for it off the desktop but everything else is still the same.I still get wise uninstall msg.even when i try to go through the program uninstall.
 

trfoster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
27
ok,this thing is moving real slow now,from window to window to program to program.pretty much everthing it does is real real real slow and the mouse pointer is freezing up all the time.can anyone help me? please! please! please!
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
74
Hi trfoster,

Would you try to run the following "Diagnostic Test"? No personal information is collected in the test & ActiveX is used much the same as at Windows Update. If you are running XP w/SP2, please allow the ActiveX download. Following is the URL to the test site:
http://pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/default.asp

Enter you email address & a password so that you can save the test results or run a new test in the future. Each time you run a new test you will have to allow the download of the ActiveX utility.

At the end of the test, you will be on the "Summary Page". In the upper right corner, you will see "TechExpress". Click on it & you will see a URL starting with http and ending in 16 digits. Highlight the URL & "Copy". Paste the link in you next post.

Regards,

Hawk
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
trfoster

OK, nothing wrong with PCPitstop. But first lets get you back to where you were before JV16.

1) Restart in MS DOS mode. (Start->Shut down).
2) At the DOS prompt type:scanreg /restore
Hit Enter.
3) Choose the newest date before JV16. And let it restore your registry to that date. It will reboot. Then go to PCPitstop.

sekirt
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
ok...let Hawk reply to PCPitStop findings, etc;

You can restore back whenever...if necessary.

The reason I felt going back was a better choice, it appeared that you had far less errors to contend with.

sekirt
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
74
I corrected your link:

http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/summary.asp

If you click the above link, you will return to your summar & will see these:

Customized Tune-up Tips
• Check IE Restricted Sites zone
• Slow Internet performance - bandwidth

Click on the first one & use the AutoFix to correct it. Scroll down until you see it.
The second item is not important as iut can varry with dialup.

Your CPU is running at 7% which is a wee bit high & could be an infection or something running in the background. If you click on Test Details in the right menu & scroll down to the blue/gray files you will be given advice as to whether or not that file should be running.

To delete IE temp files, go to TOOLS/INTERNET OPTIONS/GENERAL PAGE...about half way down page click on "Delete Files". To SET your IE Temp File Cache, click on settings & remove current amount then type in 50 to max. 80 & click OK.

Regards,

Hawk
 

trfoster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
27
ok, hawk,I did everything on the pitstop.I set the IE cache but it only had a slider bar thing and wouldnt let me type the whole 50 to max 80.So i put in 100 because the pitstop said 10 to 100.Is that ok? or to high you think.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
74
Just highlight the amount & remove (delete) & type 50. I think 100MB is a bit large although it will still work ok.
 

trfoster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
27
Ok, sekirt, I think im going to go back and restore to before jv16. Im still having a lot of problems.I think you were right it doesnt seem like i was this bad off before.also i dont completly agree with pitstops summary of my computer because it was a little slow on the internet but its dial up also.I didnt have as much problems playing games such as BATTLE REALMS,AGE OF EMPIRES,ETC. NOW it cuts off on me and freezes up.So after i do this you want me to go back to pit stop and rerun the same test?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top