1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

problem setting the resolution and a new guy

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Strauss, Sep 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Strauss

    Strauss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Hello, everyone first I would like to introduce myself. My real name is Levi. I live in Detroit, Michigan but will be attending college in Owosso for Microsoft Networking and Web Design next week. Ive been very interested in computers for about 5 years and consider myself to be between a begineer and intermediate user.

    Now for the question:

    My girlfriend has an old Dell computer that has Windows 98 on it. I recently reformatted it and did a clean install of the os and drivers. I went smoothly except that for some reason the resolution is locked at 640 X 480. I click on the pointer in settings to change the resolution but it wont move. Its a diamond video card and im pretty much sure the drivers for it are up to date. Any ideas. Thanks for any help.


    -Levi-
     
  2. NT4.0

    NT4.0

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    you will need to download a driver for your card and install it -- my Win98 has 640x480/16 colors too and i have to install the driver every time I reinstall the system.
     
  3. 700mb80min

    700mb80min Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,025
    has to be the incorrect driver ...try another and post back . :)

    sorry nt4.0 ...didn`t see your post .. :)
     
  4. Strauss

    Strauss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Alright, I went to Diamond's website and downloaded their driver, restarted, and it still wont work. Then i tried updating the driver with Windows; the location of the driver it was trying to use was C;\WINDOWS\TEMP\direct.b1 and the name of the driver is C:\WINDOWS\INF\NVAGP.INF. And it gave me this error when i tried to proceed.

    ERROR

    Please insert the disk labeled 'NVIDIA Compatible Display Driver Disk 1', and then click ok.

    The exact video card model is 'Diamond Viper V550'
    I don't have any factory disks for this computer because it was a gift from a former teacher of hers.

    Thanks again.
     
  5. Strauss

    Strauss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Update::

    Well i found the Diamond Properties dialog box somehow and it lists 640 x 480 as its only resolution but will let me change the bitrate.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/274806

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice