problem trying to kick up my Windows xp (Dell)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

warr1or2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2008
Messages
77
I was moving around some furniture & had to unplug my computer. It was working fine before.. After arranging everything I plugged my computer back up & it wouldn't power on. Here's the strange thing. I moved my computer to my room to see what's going on & it powers on, though it says NTLDR is missing. I've made no changes between unpluging that time to move things around & taking it back to my room. I remove the hard drives from my computer, to try to kick it up on another XP computer, a compac presario I had for years my sis was holding on to, & with the hard drives installed, wouldn't boot past the compac logo. So i put my hard drives back into my XP computer & now it says "Strike F1 to retry reboot or F2 to run setup" & all I was trying to do is copy either or both the NTLDR & Boot.ini to one of the drives. It was running fine till it was unplugged, so what could've happened?
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
387
first of all, you cannot move harddrives from one computer to another and expect them to boot. different computers different drivers.

sometimes when you move computers, things that are not securely connected or seated will come loose. make sure all cables and cards are properly connected. Also if there was a dust buildup, moving could cause the dust to shift and create issues. finally, when moving computers, if there was any type of jolt, it could cause an older drive to crash.

you might want to test the drive to see if it is okay. run seatools for dos. it will just test the drive, not fix it. If you want to test the drive and fix it, you will need to go to the drives manfacturers website and download their drive diagnostic utility.

http://www.seagate.com/support/downloads/item/seatools-dos-master/
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
That is not classed as shutting it down cleanly unless you just touched it briefly and it actually showed the message "Shutting Down". :)
 

TonyB25

Banned
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
2,540
Sometimes moving a computer that hasn't been moved in a while loosens some connections. But connecting the drive to another computer and trying to boot from it might have caused some permanent file system damage. You may have to copy your data off and reinstall Windows.
 

warr1or2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2008
Messages
77
Sometimes moving a computer that hasn't been moved in a while loosens some connections. But connecting the drive to another computer and trying to boot from it might have caused some permanent file system damage. You may have to copy your data off and reinstall Windows.
See, I was only trying to copy a NTLDR (or check the good xp's boot.ini) & paste it, overwriting my xp's original to get it to kick up since "NTLDR is missing"
after putting hard drives back in, "press F1 to retry reboot or f2 to run setup" was shown. Maybe i either connected something wrong, or I connected the wrong drive one.

First you have to go into BIOS setup pressing F2 at boot time. Check inside BIOS if your hard drive is present and if the boot order is fine.
I'll give it a try
 

TonyB25

Banned
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
2,540
See, I was only trying to copy a NTLDR (or check the good xp's boot.ini) & paste it, overwriting my xp's original to get it to kick up since "NTLDR is missing"
after putting hard drives back in, "press F1 to retry reboot or f2 to run setup" was shown. Maybe i either connected something wrong, or I connected the wrong drive one.


I'll give it a try
You can't boot a Windows drive that was installed on a computer on a another computer. Editing an INI file doesn't change the hardware configuration.

You should be able to get your data off the drive, but I don't see how you can boot Windows from it without reinstalling on one of the computers.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top