Problem Viewing My Website using "www"

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AzazlRue

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
4
Hi Guys
Just Joined and I am Having a weird problem with my website.When I go to view my site using "www" I get The "address not found" error message Same goes with my Cpanel and WHM (I have a hosting reseller website)
However if I Remove the "www" from the address The page will load fine (same with Cpanel and WHM)
This Problem happens periodically Through out the day It will go out and come back.My Host informs me that they can view the "www" on several different PC on Several different connections and I have had a few other people tell me the same thing so I am pretty confident it is on my end.I do not have problem loading any other page.
I have tried Firewall On/off , virus on/off , /flushdns , /registerdns , winsock repair (that sucked I didn't relise I had so many registered apps lol) Opening Ports 80 and 8080 through windows firewall and praying to the internet gods but nothing works.

My Specs

Win Xp sp2 (well actually sp3 but I don't think that qualifies)
2.4 gig cpu
1024 gig mem
10meg dsl with Embarq using the 660r modem (has a built in firewall I have
shut off and Nat included that I have port 80 and 8080 open on)
AVG ver 8.0.169 anti virus with link scanner , web shield and resident shield disabled.

If you need any other info let me know.

On a side note my host recently migrated servers and all WHM reller hosts had to change IP at our register and the problem has been occuring more often since.

Thanks in advance.
Az
 

AzazlRue

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
4
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : wiz
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-2B-71-57-1B
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 27, 2008 5:35:50
AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, September 30, 2008 5:35:50
AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Site Url is: www.capitalistwizard.com

When I type in capitalistwizard.com I can view the site no problems but add "www" and I get the 404 error
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
C:\Documents and Settings\Az>nslookup capitalistwizard.com
*** Can't find server name for address 192.168.2.1: Non-existent domain
*** Default servers are not available
Server: UnKnown
Address: 192.168.2.1

*** UnKnown can't find capitalistwizard.com: Server failed

C:\Documents and Settings\Az>nslookup www.capitalistwizard.com
*** Can't find server name for address 192.168.2.1: Non-existent domain
*** Default servers are not available
Server: UnKnown
Address: 192.168.2.1

*** UnKnown can't find www.capitalistwizard.com: Server failed

When The site is viewable for me I can ping and do a tracert but when it isn't it wont do either
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2006
Messages
223
Is 192.168.2.1 a server or router? That looks like the problem, I suspect its a server.

Easy fix is to set yourself up with an open resolver like http://www.opendns.com/, if thats not possible I can talk you through fixing 192.168.2.1
 

AzazlRue

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
4
I am On an embarq dsl modem which i believe works like a router (has a built in firewall) and gives you a generic IP of 192.168.2.1 (going to http://192.168.2.1 opens a config window with settings I currently have the firewall shut off through it) I am not really confident enough to go in and mess with the settings very much..

Btw my www. is viewable at the moment for me but if it follows the pattern it will be unviewable in the next hour or 2.But while it is viewable here is a working nslookup for both the "www" and Non "www"


C:\Documents and Settings\Az>nslookup www.capitalistwizard.com
*** Can't find server name for address 192.168.2.1: Non-existent domain
*** Default servers are not available
Server: UnKnown
Address: 192.168.2.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: capitalistwizard.com
Address: 72.55.137.180
Aliases: www.capitalistwizard.com


C:\Documents and Settings\Az>nslookup capitalistwizard.com
*** Can't find server name for address 192.168.2.1: Non-existent domain
*** Default servers are not available
Server: UnKnown
Address: 192.168.2.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: capitalistwizard.com
Address: 72.55.137.180

Thanks
Az
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2006
Messages
223
I'd rule out the router for the time being, the 2nd nslookup looks good. The other mostly likely causes are either your hosting company who you've checked with or you ISPs DNS. Try changing it at router level to an open resolver
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top