1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem Viewing My Website using "www"

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by AzazlRue, Sep 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AzazlRue

    AzazlRue Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Guys
    Just Joined and I am Having a weird problem with my website.When I go to view my site using "www" I get The "address not found" error message Same goes with my Cpanel and WHM (I have a hosting reseller website)
    However if I Remove the "www" from the address The page will load fine (same with Cpanel and WHM)
    This Problem happens periodically Through out the day It will go out and come back.My Host informs me that they can view the "www" on several different PC on Several different connections and I have had a few other people tell me the same thing so I am pretty confident it is on my end.I do not have problem loading any other page.
    I have tried Firewall On/off , virus on/off , /flushdns , /registerdns , winsock repair (that sucked I didn't relise I had so many registered apps lol) Opening Ports 80 and 8080 through windows firewall and praying to the internet gods but nothing works.

    My Specs

    Win Xp sp2 (well actually sp3 but I don't think that qualifies)
    2.4 gig cpu
    1024 gig mem
    10meg dsl with Embarq using the 660r modem (has a built in firewall I have
    shut off and Nat included that I have port 80 and 8080 open on)
    AVG ver 8.0.169 anti virus with link scanner , web shield and resident shield disabled.

    If you need any other info let me know.

    On a side note my host recently migrated servers and all WHM reller hosts had to change IP at our register and the problem has been occuring more often since.

    Thanks in advance.
    Az
     
  2. Kirok

    Kirok

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    • Whats your domain name?
    • Could you post an ipconfig /all
    • What comes you do nslookup yoursite.com & nslookup www.yoursite.com
     
  3. AzazlRue

    AzazlRue Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : wiz
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-2B-71-57-1B
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 27, 2008 5:35:50
    AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, September 30, 2008 5:35:50
    AM
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Site Url is: www.capitalistwizard.com

    When I type in capitalistwizard.com I can view the site no problems but add "www" and I get the 404 error
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    C:\Documents and Settings\Az>nslookup capitalistwizard.com
    *** Can't find server name for address 192.168.2.1: Non-existent domain
    *** Default servers are not available
    Server: UnKnown
    Address: 192.168.2.1

    *** UnKnown can't find capitalistwizard.com: Server failed

    C:\Documents and Settings\Az>nslookup www.capitalistwizard.com
    *** Can't find server name for address 192.168.2.1: Non-existent domain
    *** Default servers are not available
    Server: UnKnown
    Address: 192.168.2.1

    *** UnKnown can't find www.capitalistwizard.com: Server failed

    When The site is viewable for me I can ping and do a tracert but when it isn't it wont do either
     
  4. Kirok

    Kirok

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Is 192.168.2.1 a server or router? That looks like the problem, I suspect its a server.

    Easy fix is to set yourself up with an open resolver like http://www.opendns.com/, if thats not possible I can talk you through fixing 192.168.2.1
     
  5. AzazlRue

    AzazlRue Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    I am On an embarq dsl modem which i believe works like a router (has a built in firewall) and gives you a generic IP of 192.168.2.1 (going to http://192.168.2.1 opens a config window with settings I currently have the firewall shut off through it) I am not really confident enough to go in and mess with the settings very much..

    Btw my www. is viewable at the moment for me but if it follows the pattern it will be unviewable in the next hour or 2.But while it is viewable here is a working nslookup for both the "www" and Non "www"


    C:\Documents and Settings\Az>nslookup www.capitalistwizard.com
    *** Can't find server name for address 192.168.2.1: Non-existent domain
    *** Default servers are not available
    Server: UnKnown
    Address: 192.168.2.1

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: capitalistwizard.com
    Address: 72.55.137.180
    Aliases: www.capitalistwizard.com


    C:\Documents and Settings\Az>nslookup capitalistwizard.com
    *** Can't find server name for address 192.168.2.1: Non-existent domain
    *** Default servers are not available
    Server: UnKnown
    Address: 192.168.2.1

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: capitalistwizard.com
    Address: 72.55.137.180

    Thanks
    Az
     
  6. Kirok

    Kirok

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    I'd rule out the router for the time being, the 2nd nslookup looks good. The other mostly likely causes are either your hosting company who you've checked with or you ISPs DNS. Try changing it at router level to an open resolver
     
  7. AzazlRue

    AzazlRue Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Think I am going to need a walk through for that
     
  8. Kirok

    Kirok

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Check here for one
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Problem Viewing Website
  1. dougglos
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    242
  2. josswallace
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    616
  3. Teddybasho
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    372
  4. edinburgh70
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    429
  5. oopss
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    467
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/753785

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice