1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem w/AdobeAcrobat5.05 & XPHE

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Wino, Feb 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wino

    Wino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    19,337
    Installing AA5.05 in XPHE - XP will not load the PDF Writer Files to allow converting PaperPort files to PDF. Keep getting "Install has encountered a problem and will shut down" - send to MS crap. Have tried installing in safe mode - no joy. Standard download does not include these files, so trying to install from custom. If all items checked - same message - if just PDF Writer Files checked, same problem. Everything else installs with no problem, just can't get PDF Writer. Error files to send to MS probably 20 pgs. long. Don't find any solutions at Adobe - have installed all updates and patches and still no joy. Have disabled all AV and startup files and some processes.

    It installed fine on office machine, but not home machine with same OS (note - you are allowed to install on both, so no chastising, please!):D

    Any suggestions appreciated.
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
  3. Wino

    Wino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    19,337
    Eddie,

    Thanks for the try, but no joy. XP refuses to let me load anything regarding the PDF Writer. This is a bought CD AA5.0 with all updates and patches installed. You have to use custom to install PDF Writer Files as it is not a default. Several others having same problem over at the Adobe Forum with no solution or joy either. When I try to send (drag/drop) a PaperPort .max file to AA, window pos saying I must have PDF Writer installed before I can send - it's been a Catch 22 for the last 10 hrs!

    Susposedly the Acrobat Distiller is to replace the Writer, but get the same message when droppping on it (same message - must have PDF Writer installed).:rolleyes: :mad: :confused:

    Thanks for the response and congrats while I'm at it!!;)
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Thanks :)

    Have you tried this:

    How do I install PDFWriter on my computer?
    1. Click on the Start button in the lower left corner of the screen.
    2. Select "Run…" from the list that appears.
    3. In the box that appears, type \\labs\Software\Licensed\PDFWriter Click on OK.
    4. For Windows 95 and 98 operating systems, double-click on the file named
    "Setup". If you are using Windows 2000 double-click on the 2kwriter.
    For Windows XP double-click on the xpwriter.
    5. After installation, restart your computer.

    http://cit.geneseo.edu/quickguides/pdf/adobewin.pdf

    Not sure if it's just geared to that place, so may have to try other things. Have you SP1 or not?

    eddie
     
  5. Wino

    Wino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    19,337
    Had SP1, but uninstalled from both XP machines - too many glitches.

    Guess if I could log on to geneseco network, could probably dld. the PDFWriter. I tried installing from Run Command, same old errors - tried Command Prompt and no go (both from files transfered from XP machine on which it works). Although I was short one file PDFhlp.hlp (and it's not on the one that works), did have the rest required, text, setup and drivers - just ain't gonna work on this one machine.

    Again, appreciate your help. If you run across anything, let me know and if I do will do the same.

    Ciao
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Hiya

    Just glancing thru my email, and wondered if you've had any joy with this?

    If not, I noticed that you said that the error log was 20 or so pages. Not sure if it will shed any light, but do you want to email me it? If so, i'll send my email via PM :)

    eddie
     
  7. Wino

    Wino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    19,337
    eddie5659,

    Well still no solution found, so I'm willing to do just about anything. I quit messing with it on the one computer where it would not load, so I'm using it on the one that does and networking over to the other, which is a small PITA. But, if you're willing, I'll try again and will send you the file. Thanks for your continued interest.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119499

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice