Problem w/ Windows

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

agukids

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 24, 2001
Messages
118
When I started my computer today,I got this error....

"Windows Registry Checker"
Windows encountered an error accessing the system registry. Windows will restart and repair the system registry for you.


But everytime I hit ok to restart it keeps when it reboots it shows back up....Does anyone know what I can do to get rid of this error? Thanks!!!
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Hi agukids,Go to Start>Shutdown>Restart in ms-dos>at the c:\prompt type

Scanreg /Fix

Notice the space between the g and /

Lets us know if this works for you.
 

agukids

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 24, 2001
Messages
118
Well I tried that and when I typed it in it said something like Bad Command. Any other suggestions?
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Well thats the right command.Are you sure you typed it just like it is on the first post?Ok try this,Go to Start>Run>type in msinfo32,click ok.Click on tools,then registry checker.See if that helps.While your there at system information window,also click on system file checker to see if you have any bad files.

let us know
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
If you're running Win95, it won't work.

If Win98 or ME, Beach is absolutely right.

Grtz.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2001
Messages
3,178
Hi,

If you are using Windows 95, try doing this:

http://people.mw.mediaone.net/viper8/regbackup.htm

Make sure you follow the instructions step-by-step. You will have to change the file attributes (using the attrib command) before and after you copy over the .da0 files.

Post back if you're unclear on any of the instructions. Better to ask questions with the registry, then to make mistakes.

Good Luck;)
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
If your running W98 or Windows ME and your consistently getting that error at startup, your RAM is most likely causing it. The RAM isn't necessary completely bad but it's just what I would call "shakey". If your up to it and you have multiple strips of RAM in the PC, open up the case and try rotating the strips in the different slots and rebooting each time til your able to boot up without the error. You want to keep rotating different strips into the first slot. Keep trying different combinations til you can boot up cleanly.

Your other option would be to boot to SafeMode and disable ScanRegistry at startup using msconfig but I would only suggest that as a temporary measure til you can open the case and rotate or replace the RAM. If you need help trying that, let us know if your running W98 or Windows ME.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top