Problem Website

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Southernonline

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
67
There is a website that I use frequently. However, for the last few days, I cannot access the site.
This is the ONLY site where I have an issue. The site is: www.ebates.com. The error message I recieve when I try to open the site is: "Internet Explorer Cannot Display This Webpage"
Again, this is the only site where i have this issue and I have been using the site for some time now.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,468
try to ping the website

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping www.ebates.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,468
that looks like its a ping to 127.0.0.1
have a look in the host file and see if theres an entry there
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hosts_(file)

should be located here

Windows 7/Vista/XP = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC
Windows 2K = C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC

this is what the host file should look like

#
# This is a sample HOSTS file
# It is a good, clean, empty copy.
# There should be only one entry, that for the localhost
# If the localhost entry is missing however, it's no big deal
# If there are any other entries, your computer is likely to have been
# infected with malicious software!!!
#
# The hosts file assigns the name of a web page/site on the Internet
# to an IP address. This bypasses the normal DNS system.
# Each entry should be on a single line. The IP address should
# start in the first column followed by one or more spaces
# followed by the web page/site name.
#
# Any line, such as this one, that starts with a number sign is a comment
# Comments can also appear on a line with a real entry as shown below
#
# Sample Entries:
# 123.98.76.54 news.yahoo.com # Yahoo News
# 44.11.22.33 www.google.com # Google Home Page

127.0.0.1 localhost

heres how to return to default
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034
 

Southernonline

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
67
by the way, that's something i meant to add earlier. I cannot use any of the Microsoft Fix It programs. Every time I try I get an error that says it can't run.

If there is an entry in the hosts file, do I delete it?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,468
yes
just put a hash # in front of the entry

by the way, that's something i meant to add earlier. I cannot use any of the Microsoft Fix It programs. Every time I try I get an error that says it can't run.
well that may also be connected to the issue

have you tried a restore point to before the issue started
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top