1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem When Starting Up

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by TurnerUKTA, Feb 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TurnerUKTA

    TurnerUKTA Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Hi there, the other day i put the XP Disk in and selected to upgrade from that as i thought a few files were missing.

    Then when the computer restarted i got the option to just start windows normally or start up in setup.

    Obviously i chose set up but then it just got stuck when setup was loading.

    I just had to restart the computer and took the disk out.

    Now when i try to restart i get this page everytime, i want it so it just loads up normally

    Thanks in advance.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    You can Edit the BOOT.INI file

    You can edit the BOOT.INI file.

    Press Windows Logo key + Pause Break key
    in the new window Advanced
    under Startup & Recovery click Settings
    under System Startup click Edit button.


    For one O/S should be something like this

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
     
  3. TurnerUKTA

    TurnerUKTA Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    Mine comes up as:

    [Boot Loader]
    Timeout=5
    Default=C:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\BOOTSECT.DAT
    [Operating Systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
    C:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows XP Professional Setup"
     
  4. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Ok...just delete the line at the bottom

    C:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows XP Professional Setup"
     
  5. TurnerUKTA

    TurnerUKTA Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Thanks, ive tried that and when i restarted the same screen came up, but instead of 'Microsoft Windows XP Professional Setup' it now says 'Windows (Default)'
     
  6. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Understood....

    Just Edit this line so it looks like my one

    Default=C:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\BOOTSECT.DAT

    to

    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
     
  7. TurnerUKTA

    TurnerUKTA Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    125
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543099

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice