1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Problem with a website

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by bilnrobn, Apr 18, 2017.

Advertisement
  1. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Bill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    759
    I have a website I visit daily and have done for years. Whilst there I perform tasks involving entering information and running through a tried and proven process I've used for years as well. However lately the site has been hanging after a short, variable period of operation. The only solution I've found is time. After an hour or so I can get back in and preform a few functions before it hangs again.

    I have narrowed the problem down to my computer as I've now found I have no problems when doing the work from my wife's computer. Her computer is wireless connected to my router, so same router and landline. Other users I know are not having any problem and I'm only having problems on this particular site, all others being quite normal.

    I have an All-In-One HP desktop. OS is Win10. Browser, Firefox. My wife's computer is a slightly newer version of the same computer, also using Win10 and FF. I've never had a problem of this nature before; can anyone suggest a cause and solution please?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. shanej1234

    shanej1234

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    try using google chrome
     
  4. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Bill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    759
    I did yesterday. It was downloaded with something else with no option not to, so, as it was there, I tried to raise website in question using Chrome. It crashed immediately; I couldn't even sign in. So no, afraid that isn't the answer. I don't think it is a browser problem as my wife and I both have the latest version of Firefox and it works on her computer and crashes on mine.
     
  5. shanej1234

    shanej1234

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    go do that again and then once its crashed go into windows event viewer and go to the applications pane and then let us know what the error is that caused it to crash
     
  6. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Bill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    759
    Here's what I've got to on Event Viewer/Application. What now? If I'm in the wrong place in Event Viewer please give steps.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. shanej1234

    shanej1234

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    go to where i highlighted ( Sometimes it takes time to load )
    then just scroll until you see anything that has an error and is related to your issue and then paste your findings here
     

    Attached Files:

  8. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Bill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    759
    Is this what you need? It seems to relate to my printer, which is a brother, but at the time it was and still is, switched off.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Bill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    759
    The entry "Brother brlog" must have something to do with it. I just had the problem site hang and then tried to go to a different page of the site, so two crashes. I then went straight to Event Viewer/Windows Logs/Application and found the most recent entries were at the same time as the problems occurred. See attached. But there seems to be continuous error messages from that time back. I'm out of my field of knowledge here so don't understand what this is telling us.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Bill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    759
    Following on my last post, here are three screenshots of the Details box. The entries are only milliseconds apart and seem to cycle through three reports.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    50,689
    first of all. What is the website?
    all the errors that you are showing are brother printer errors
    unplug the printer before visiting the website & see what happens
     
  12. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Bill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    759
    Yes, I could see it the reports seemed to involve the printer. I've now done as you suggested; I pulled the printer plug out of the wall, then for good measure I rebooted. Unfortunately the problem is still there. Could it be the Brother software on the computer, rather than the printer itself, are causing the problem? The Event Viewer is still producing the same reports as those I sent you in my previous post. I've had the printer several years and I've never had the problem previously.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2017 at 4:36 AM
  13. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    50,689
    tell us the website so we can see what it is trying to do

    I know firefox updated a couple of days ago and some sites have problems with the new version as do some FF plugins
    Lets see if there is anything obvious showing here


    Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your Desktop.

    Note: You need to download and run the 64 bit version

    • Right click to run as administrator. When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
    • Press Scan button.
    • It will produce a log called FRST.txt in the same directory the tool is run from.
    • Please copy and paste log back here.
    • The first time the tool is run it generates another log (Addition.txt - also located in the same directory as FRST.exe/FRST64.exe). Please also paste that along with the FRST.txt into your reply.
     
  14. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Bill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    759
    Before I do that I'd like to wait until tomorrow when I should have a heap more work to do on the site. The reason is that, after today's discussions on the thread, I have reached the conclusion the Brother software on the computer may be the problem. So I went to the Startup list at MSCONFIG and to my surprise found the Brother Control Centre Program was disabled already. So I enabled it, rebooted and ran some tests on the site with the limited amount of work I had outstanding. I got it all done and it went way longer than it has recently when crashes have occurred. Tomorrow morning I should be able to give it a full test. If the problem is solved I'll get back to you so we can mark the thread 'Solved'. If not I'll let you know that too and will turn my attention to your last post.
     
  15. bilnrobn

    bilnrobn Bill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    759
    Well I've just run a very thorough test with the printer software enabled and didn't get one hang in a total of an hour's work! So I think I can safely say the problem is solved. How the printer software being disabled could cause a single website to continually crash is a mystery to me, but that's computers for you.

    Thanks very much Derek and Shane, your help had been invaluable and is much appreciated.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1188681