1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

problem with BIOS Setup

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Dragonetti, Nov 23, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dragonetti

Dragonetti Thread Starter

Hello

I am new to this board, but not computers. I am currently studying for my A+ Certification and it's coming along well. I have looked in my A+ booklet to see if I can find an answer to my question and I am coming up empty handed. Maybe somebody here can help me out.

I have a situation with the BIOS setup on my computer. I want to go into my BIOS so I can set up my HDs for a Master/Slave. My problem is, once I get into the BIOS setup, it stays there. It will not let me go into the setup and change anything. It would not let me Control+Alt+Delete to reboot either. I don't think the screen is frozen cause the "time" is still running. I have a Gateway 450MHz that I bought 3 years ago. I just can't figure out how to get past this "frozen" BIOS setup screen. Any suggestions on how I can bypass this or fix it?

I have just bought a 40GB Western Digital HD that I want to make into my Master and take my old 10GB and make it into a Slave for bulk storage. I only have less than 1000mb left on my old 10 Gigger.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Dragonetti

2. Max19

Max19 Account Disabled

You need to set the jumpers on the drivers for Master/Slave first. What makes you think the BIOS screen is frozen? You won't likely be able to use a mouse. You have to use the keyboard. Try the arrow keys. Look along the bottom of the screen for the key to press to save the settings. It's usually F10 or ESC.

3. Dragonetti

Max,