Problem with computer perfomance! HELP PLEASE!!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sireveris

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
22
It's just that my computer is really slow, takes forever to starp-up and shut down, and the internet and games lag. A lot of Discs I put in are unresponsive because of the slow performance. I just need to know what I can do to make my computer faster.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
6
reformat...scan for viruses...also, give some specs....and what is it in fperformance, theme performance as in lag, or performance as in CPU Drawing overclocking?
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
101
Try these:
1. Click start and select run
2. Type "msconfig" then click startup and disable what you need.
3. Type "cleanmgr" select the drive you want to clean up then you can choose what you want to clean

You can also add memory, scan for viruses and malware etc.
 

sireveris

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
22
Thanks for the help so far guys I'll try some of this stuff out.
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Download, install and run HiJackThis

Run the Scan and Save log file option
When the LOG file opens in NotePad, Select All, Copy
Then, return here and in a reply post, Paste

This will show us what is starting and running in your current environment
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,458
Copy-and-paste a HijackThis log here, as requested.

When you right-click MY COMPUTER and then click Properties, what's listed in the General tab for the processor speed and the amount of RAM?

----------------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
101
so, it's easier to click start, "help and support center" then "use tools to view your computer info...", then click " my computer info" then "view advanced system info"
 

sireveris

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
22
Here is my HijackThis Log
----------------------------
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 10:48:09 PM, on 10/7/2008
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
Boot mode: Normal
Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\wuauclt.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us7.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us7.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://us7.hpwis.com/
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: hp toolkit - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - C:\HP\EXPLOREBAR\HPTOOLKT.DLL
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSConfig] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe /auto
O9 - Extra button: MktBrowser - {17A27031-71FC-11d4-815C-005004D0F1FA} - C:\Program Files\MarketBrowser\lmt\MarketBrowser_Launch.xpy
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MarketBrowser - {17A27031-71FC-11d4-815C-005004D0F1FA} - C:\Program Files\MarketBrowser\lmt\MarketBrowser_Launch.xpy
O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nwprovau.dll
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{A949CFA3-553A-42B3-AF34-D19E103A389C}: NameServer = 68.94.156.1 68.94.157.1
--
End of file - 3004 bytes

Computer Specs
--------------------
System:
Microsoft Windows XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Service Pack 1

Additional Info:
Hewlett-Packard
Pavilion
AMD Athlon(tm)XP 1800+
1.53GHz
112 MB of RAM
---------------------
Also I have no security, or cleaning programs, This should be all you need to know hopefully.
 

sireveris

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
22
Well I have to go to bed, I'll be on tomorrow. Also I GET MY NEW CELL PHONE TOMORROW!!!!
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,458
Your computer has only 128 MB of RAM installed. It's showing only 112 MB because 16 MB of it is dedicated to an on-board display adapter.

Windows XP needs more RAM than that. Your computer will run like a snail until more RAM is installed.

What is the model number of your HP Pavilion? It's needed so we can determine how much RAM it supports and what type of RAM it uses.

---------------------------------------------------

Your HijackThis log is incomplete. There should be a list of O23 entries at the bottom it.

There are also no O4 entries listed. This means that everything listed in Start - Run - MSCONFIG - OK - Startup(tab) has been unchecked and disabled.

--------------------------------------------------

You're still using Service Pack 1 and don't even have Service Pack 2 installed. I can also assume that numerous security-related critical updates have never been installed.

--------------------------------------------------

Between having your computer very out-of-date and not having an antivirus program installed, I wouldn't be surprised at all that it's infested with "nasties".

You're not making it easy for us to help you.

-------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
101
Go to www.crucial.com to determine type of RAM and how much of RAM your PC supports. If you want to update your PC, in my opinion, you should start with memory, putting more RAM is highly recommended. Then do all software update.
 

sireveris

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
22
I can't do anything that costs above $0.00. Now what solution is there?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top