1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem with computer perfomance! HELP PLEASE!!!!

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by sireveris, Oct 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sireveris

    sireveris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    It's just that my computer is really slow, takes forever to starp-up and shut down, and the internet and games lag. A lot of Discs I put in are unresponsive because of the slow performance. I just need to know what I can do to make my computer faster.
     
  2. lpjz50

    lpjz50

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    reformat...scan for viruses...also, give some specs....and what is it in fperformance, theme performance as in lag, or performance as in CPU Drawing overclocking?
     
  3. Banner1976

    Banner1976

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Try these:
    1. Click start and select run
    2. Type "msconfig" then click startup and disable what you need.
    3. Type "cleanmgr" select the drive you want to clean up then you can choose what you want to clean

    You can also add memory, scan for viruses and malware etc.
     
  4. wtxcowboy

    wtxcowboy

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,243
    also the usual, defrag, delete temp files & cookies
     
  5. sireveris

    sireveris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks for the help so far guys I'll try some of this stuff out.
     
  6. sireveris

    sireveris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Wait, how do I find my computer's specs?
     
  7. Banner1976

    Banner1976

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Click "start", right click "my computer", then properties and general tab.
     
  8. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Download, install and run HiJackThis

    Run the Scan and Save log file option
    When the LOG file opens in NotePad, Select All, Copy
    Then, return here and in a reply post, Paste

    This will show us what is starting and running in your current environment
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,809
    First Name:
    Frank
    Copy-and-paste a HijackThis log here, as requested.

    When you right-click MY COMPUTER and then click Properties, what's listed in the General tab for the processor speed and the amount of RAM?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. Banner1976

    Banner1976

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    so, it's easier to click start, "help and support center" then "use tools to view your computer info...", then click " my computer info" then "view advanced system info"
     
  11. sireveris

    sireveris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Here is my HijackThis Log
    ----------------------------
    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 10:48:09 PM, on 10/7/2008
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    Boot mode: Normal
    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us7.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us7.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us7.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://us7.hpwis.com/
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: hp toolkit - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - C:\HP\EXPLOREBAR\HPTOOLKT.DLL
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSConfig] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe /auto
    O9 - Extra button: MktBrowser - {17A27031-71FC-11d4-815C-005004D0F1FA} - C:\Program Files\MarketBrowser\lmt\MarketBrowser_Launch.xpy
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MarketBrowser - {17A27031-71FC-11d4-815C-005004D0F1FA} - C:\Program Files\MarketBrowser\lmt\MarketBrowser_Launch.xpy
    O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
    O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nwprovau.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{A949CFA3-553A-42B3-AF34-D19E103A389C}: NameServer = 68.94.156.1 68.94.157.1
    --
    End of file - 3004 bytes

    Computer Specs
    --------------------
    System:
    Microsoft Windows XP
    Home Edition
    Version 2002
    Service Pack 1

    Additional Info:
    Hewlett-Packard
    Pavilion
    AMD Athlon(tm)XP 1800+
    1.53GHz
    112 MB of RAM
    ---------------------
    Also I have no security, or cleaning programs, This should be all you need to know hopefully.
     
  12. sireveris

    sireveris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Well I have to go to bed, I'll be on tomorrow. Also I GET MY NEW CELL PHONE TOMORROW!!!!
     
  13. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,809
    First Name:
    Frank
    Your computer has only 128 MB of RAM installed. It's showing only 112 MB because 16 MB of it is dedicated to an on-board display adapter.

    Windows XP needs more RAM than that. Your computer will run like a snail until more RAM is installed.

    What is the model number of your HP Pavilion? It's needed so we can determine how much RAM it supports and what type of RAM it uses.

    ---------------------------------------------------

    Your HijackThis log is incomplete. There should be a list of O23 entries at the bottom it.

    There are also no O4 entries listed. This means that everything listed in Start - Run - MSCONFIG - OK - Startup(tab) has been unchecked and disabled.

    --------------------------------------------------

    You're still using Service Pack 1 and don't even have Service Pack 2 installed. I can also assume that numerous security-related critical updates have never been installed.

    --------------------------------------------------

    Between having your computer very out-of-date and not having an antivirus program installed, I wouldn't be surprised at all that it's infested with "nasties".

    You're not making it easy for us to help you.

    -------------------------------------------------
     
  14. Banner1976

    Banner1976

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Go to www.crucial.com to determine type of RAM and how much of RAM your PC supports. If you want to update your PC, in my opinion, you should start with memory, putting more RAM is highly recommended. Then do all software update.
     
  15. sireveris

    sireveris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    I can't do anything that costs above $0.00. Now what solution is there?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756431

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice