1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem with DirectX

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by the1stew, Nov 25, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. the1stew

    the1stew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    I'm a newbie, bear with me. I had borrowed a new game and downloaded the files from the game to play it. After the downloading was complete, I hit play and I was notified that my there was an error with DirectX. I found out that my version of DX was way behind, so I upgraded it from the Internet. My game is reading that DX doesn't exist .

    Any information as to how to fix the problem would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Welcome to TSG........
    Im wondering if you uninstall the game then reinstall it would it detect the DirextX then?

    Im not sure but I'd try it.

    Savvy :)
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi the1stew,

    Welcome to the board!

    Go to Start/run, and type Dxdiag.
    What version of DirectX does it say it is?
    Also take a look at all tabs, and see whether any errors are reported.
    If all is OK, go to Control Pane/Software add-remove, and uninstall your game.
    Reboot, and install it again.

    Good luck!
     
  4. the1stew

    the1stew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    Under DirectX files, there was a yellow triangle with an exclamation mark inside ( it was sitting next to a entry "iac25_32.ax".

    In the Corrections box, it says that this file is a beta version which is unsupported and could cause problems. Reinstall DirectX latest version.

    I did this, same problem occurring.
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    But if you do Dxdiag now, are any errors being reported on any of the tabs?

    If not, it might be your game misbehaving.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59562

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice