Problem with DVD-RW Drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

James Crosso

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2003
Messages
110
I recently purchased an installed a Lite-On DVD-RW Drive. For about a month the drive worked quite well.

Just yesterday, I inserted a CD-ROM. I tried to select the CD-ROM and copy it to the hard drive so that I could avoid inserting it each time. I selected all the files and folders on the CD-ROM and hit copy. During the copy process, the drive made funny noises like it was struggling to spin the disc, and I eventually cancelled the copy.

I went back and tried the copy again, and it worked successfully.

However, now, when I try to play a DVD-ROM in the drive, the performance is intermittant. THe sound and video is choppy.

I do not know what happened to the drive, or if it is broken. I was watching DVD's on it just before this all transpired.

Would anybody be willing to offer me some help in solving this problem?

Thanks,
James Crosson
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Is the drive still making noises?

Go to Device Manager and expand the IDE ATAPI Controllers heading. Double click the Secondary IDE controller adn check the transfer speeds. Is the drive running in DMA or PIO mode?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Wow, that was weird. Edited my thread as I'm assuuming it is internal.
 

James Crosso

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2003
Messages
110
All of you thanks for your help. The drive is internal. Under Secondary IDE Channel Device 0 is listed as PIO Only and Device 1 is listed as DMA If Available.

I think the drive is on Device 0 and because I don't have a second device.

Any suggestions? Thanks for your continued help.

James
 

James Crosso

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2003
Messages
110
Before you guys tell me to do so, I tried changing the drive to "DMA if Available" but the mode has stayed PIO (Unless I have to restart - It didn't tell me to).

I am skeptical however because, why would a simply file transfer derail a drive from functionality? It does not make noises anymore, and seems to access files on the drive okay, but the DVD playback which worked yesterday deteriorated and does not work.

I have not made any hardware changes at this time. I just don't understand.

James
 

James Crosso

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2003
Messages
110
I am using PowerDVD and i have also used NVDvd. I personally feel that PowerDVD is better software, but NvDVD works with my remote.

Regardless, both programs produce the same choppy behavior.

Does anybody have any idea what they think it could be?

James
 

James Crosso

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2003
Messages
110
I have recently also started to notice that playback of MP3's with Windows Media Player skips, however infrequently, when I am typing.

This happens despite having 1Gb RAM and new components - any while being an advanced computer user, nothing ordinary is out of line or changed from when this has started.

I am well protected from virus' and internet threats, although I never rule it out.

But I am wondering if that could be related? The stutter in WMP playback is not frequenty and is not too prevalant, but it definitely only occurs when I am using some sort of input device.
 

James Crosso

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2003
Messages
110
My power supply is 400Watts.

I have a CHaintech NJIL1 motherboard, Athlon 3300+ XP, 1GB PC3300 Ram. I've got a 128Mb Personal Cinema Video Card by CHaintech

The DVD drive worked fine beffore the file transfer yesterdayt.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
809
hmmm...maybe a busted drive, I have a Sony CDRW drive here that one day just stopped burning/reading blank cd's. Still reads manufactured cd's. Sounds like yours did something like mine.

Might just be defective or low quality, although Lite-on's tend to be decent drives. You could try cleaning the laser lens in the drive, which would void the warranty, so if its still under warranty Id say skip the cleaning and send it back to lite on for repair/replacement.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top