1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem with Harddisk!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by LolliTeam, May 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LolliTeam

    LolliTeam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Hello, my friend recently formated one of his hdd (the main), he put windows XP on it.. evreything works fine... on the bootup it finds 2 hdd.. so evreything is normal... same thing in the bios... but once he goes on my computer there's only one hdd, only the master.. it looks like that it doesn't find the slave. You guys have some advices?? Please let me know as soon as possibile.

    Sincerely
    Massimo
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Have they Parttitioned and formatted the second hard drive??

    Go here and see what it says about it.

    Click Start>>right click My Computer>>Manage and then on the left-hand side click on Disk management

    Below is mine
     

    Attached Files:

  3. LolliTeam

    LolliTeam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Yeah yeah.. I already checked.. it says that its healthy... and it's there....
     
  4. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    In disk Management does it have a drive letter assigned to it??
     
  5. LolliTeam

    LolliTeam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    It should be D... But I'll check ^^ thx for the help. I'll let you know!
     
  6. LolliTeam

    LolliTeam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    The Hdd doesn't Have a letter assigned to it, I tryed puting it but it doesn't let you do it... you cant click on the option! heres a pic, the only options it gives me is the help and erase partion

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  7. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Is that the only options you get when you go to Disk Management and Right click on it??


    What is the Second Hard drive jumper set to....Slave (SL) or Cable Select (CS)
     
  8. LolliTeam

    LolliTeam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Yes Does are they only options it gives me, The second Hard drive is Slave.
     
  9. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    And the only options is Delete Partition??


    Is there any data on that second Hard drive??
     
  10. LolliTeam

    LolliTeam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Yes the only options are Delete Partition and Help.

    The second hard drive has all of the data he had on the first one when he formated.
     
  11. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Understood.....

    What is the main Hard drive set to Master or Cable Select?

    If Master try and set them both to Cable Select (CS) and stert the PC and see
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/576775

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice