1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem with IP address(es)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by havikryan, Jun 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. havikryan

    havikryan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    So my computer is a desktop and its on wireless. My brothers is a wired connection.
    We are on the same network and I was setting up a perfectly legitimate remote access server on my computer, so I checked my external WAN ip and it came out to be [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]76.69.151.###
    [/FONT]Directly afterwards, i checked his external IP. For some reason, both external WAN Ip's are the same. How Can I fix this TECHGUY :C
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    What are you trying to fix? You are probably both connected to the internet through the same router. If you want different public IP addresses you need different ISP contracts or pay an ISP extra for multiple IP addresses.
     
  3. havikryan

    havikryan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    I thought every computer was supposed to have its own IP address?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    Mostly true. The IP address must be unique on the network, but your and my and millions of other computers may have the same IP address (mine is currently 192.168.2.5) since we are on different private (LAN) networks. Assuming that you have a router and multiple computers connected to it each of those computers will have a unique (to that LAN) private IP address. The router's WAN will have a unique public IP address.
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    What is your modem?
     
  6. havikryan

    havikryan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    TL-WR841N < is my router.
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    I re-read your post and I realized I was not on the same page. Indeed any computer connected to your router will have the same routable IP (the public IP addres you posted) because your router is the one that has that information.

    If you are having issues with your Remote Access server, then you may need to do some portforwarding, otherwise if the issue was that you saw both computers with the same WAN IP, then that's normal.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1058683