Problem with my LG DVD Writer burning CDs

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

suicide

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
56
I have an LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4160B Super multi writer. This writer also burns RAM discs. My problem is I went to burn an Audio CD with Nero 6 and it would only let me burn at a Max speed of 8X. The writer can burn up to 40X for CDRs, but it's like it thinks that I'm burning a RAM disc when I'm burning a CDR. The CDRs I'm using are Mitsumi and rated up to 48X. I have never had a problem with them ever. I also tried burning with Pinnacle Instant DVD/CD 8 and it did the same thing. So does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this? Thx
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2005
Messages
316
ok, im also using Nero 6. If you have the same as mine........

-Click/Doubble Click on your "Nero Start Smart"
-Extras
-Control Drive's Speed


Hope it works for ya. :D
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
42
You could try a firmware update for the drive from the Manufacture. Keep in mind if the drive works now it may not work after a firmware update, also check for Nero's latest update may have a bug fix for that drive. Just an opinion not the Gosipel True.
 

suicide

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
56
Instantjunk said:
You could try a firmware update for the drive from the Manufacture. Keep in mind if the drive works now it may not work after a firmware update, also check for Nero's latest update may have a bug fix for that drive. Just an opinion not the Gosipel True.
The problem is that its supposed to write at 40x originally so a firmware upgrade shouldnt do anything correct? The Nero start smart didnt work.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
42
Had a little problem with Nero and my Sony DL, had to remove and reinstall Nero and re-update before it recognized all of the speed capabilities of the drive, but that may not fix your problem if it also doesn't work in Pinnacle.
Just because the box advertised 40x doesn't mean you will get that performance without a specific media brand or type. Check the fine print in the manual. It could also need to be set to the DMA setting in device manager.

Good Luck!
 

suicide

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
56
Instantjunk said:
Had a little problem with Nero and my Sony DL, had to remove and reinstall Nero and re-update before it recognized all of the speed capabilities of the drive, but that may not fix your problem if it also doesn't work in Pinnacle.
Just because the box advertised 40x doesn't mean you will get that performance without a specific media brand or type. Check the fine print in the manual. It could also need to be set to the DMA setting in device manager.

Good Luck!
I went into the device manager and the properties of the writer and I didnt see anywhere to enable the DMA. Is there somewhere else I should be looking? Thx The media I'm using burns up tp 48X and worked fine in my older LiteOn CD writer.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
42
Sorry - Device Manager>IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers>Secondary IDE Channel>Properties>Advanced Settings
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
42
Well then, I'm going to step back and watch and see if anybody else has any suggestions.
Best of Luck!
 

suicide

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
56
Instantjunk said:
Well then, I'm going to step back and watch and see if anybody else has any suggestions.
Best of Luck!

Thx but dont step back, I need all the help I can get. :D
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Actually Firmware may be the answer. DVD compatibilty is a big problem. I have a LG 4040B and it will only write to Mitsumi 4X DVD's at 2X and had to update the firmware to use Memorex discs. The lesson is not all media works in all drives.

You can download the firmware from here: http://www.lge.com/support/software_gcsc.jsp

Somtimes it solves problems with media not listed as well as not all media can be tested. Or you can try different CD's.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top