Problem with PrimoPDF

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Justdan

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
21
I've been using PrimoPdf on my win 7 OS for a long time without any problems.
Today, for some reason , I am unable to print the pdf file to my desktop.
I receive the following error message each time I attempt to use PrimoPDF:

"conversion to PDF failed: PDF conversion failed: -8"

I cerainly hope one of you gurus can help me.

Thanks,

Justdan




Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 4028 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 476837 MB, Free - 416089 MB; D: Total - 114439 MB, Free - 49614 MB;
Motherboard: Intel Corporation, DG43GT
Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled
 

Justdan

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
21
Hi Elvandil....

Thanks for your response to my PrimoPDF problem.

I deleted the PrimoPDF program and reinsrtalled the latest version, as you suggested, but I still get the same error message mentioned before.

Justdan
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
I hope you "uninstalled" it rather than "deleted" it.

If what you want to do is create PDF's from other documents, you could try uninstalling Primo and installing something like DoPDF, a virtual printer that will appear as an option when you use the Print function inside documents. It will print to a PDF file, thus converting it.
 

T60

Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
8
Have you looked in the Windows Event Log to see if anything's been logged there in terms of an error?
Start | Run type eventvwr and click OK.
Look in all the various logs, particularly System and Application.
Might find something helpful.
Then again.... :)
 

Justdan

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
21
Yes .... I did uninstall the program before reinstalling! ..... Now What??

Justdan
 

T60

Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
8
You have tried a complete reboot I take it. Might seem a silly question.
 

T60

Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
8
Go to Start | Programs | PrimoPDF and choose PrimoPDF Settings
Then when you get the PrimoPDF dialog coming up, click the button marked "Options" in the bottom left corner.
Then click "Troubleshoot" and tick both boxes "Save conversion logs" and "Save PostScript after conversion"
Then try printing your document again, watch it fail, then look for the conversion log file, open it up in Notepad, and see what it contains.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top