1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem with Quicktime newest version on Vista 64 bit

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Franbud, Oct 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Franbud

Franbud Thread Starter

Hello, this is my first time visiting and would appreciate some help.

I bought a new Kodak Playsport camcorder that came with Media Impressions Software. Before buying this computer I check with Kodak to make sure the software would work in my HP Pavillion Vista 64 Bit computer. I have plenty of space, ram, Intel Pentiam Processor so that's no problem. Since I Knew I was probably going to buy this Camcorder, back in August I downloaded Quicktime. The reason I did this is that the Kodak software is poor and they told me to use the Quicktime program to play and upload to You Tube.

Well, I put my video in yesterday morning and it worked fine in Quicktime and I even uploaded a video which played very well in You Tube.

Now, while I was on the computer, I got a message from the Quicktime people that there was a new version to upgrade Quicktime available. It was Quicktime 7. So I downloaded it.
    Once downloaded, my Quicktime would not play. I called Kodak and we uninstalled Quicktime, Itunes and the other little programs and tried to reinstall Quicktime 7 again. No luck. Kodak told me to check with the Apple.com and I have followed trouble shooting to no avail. I even tried to download an older version of Quicktime Player, and that did not work either.

My question.....Why is Quicktime not working in my comuter now, when the version I had downloaded a couple of months ago worked fine?

Also, is there another program that I can use instead of Quicktime Player to open my .mov files from my new camcorder.