1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem with RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by eggs, Jan 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. eggs

eggs Thread Starter

hello, i bought a ram upgrade for my hp (i have SDRAM i used to have a 128 stick and i replaced it with a 512 stick)

i have installed ram dozens of times so i kind of know what im doing but im no expert on hardware

anyway i have 1 dvd rom, 1 cdrw drive, 1 floppy and 1 hard drive, i had to unplug the cables from the back of the 2 cd roms to access the ram slots (turns out i ddint actually have to do that becuase aparently hp cases have removable sections and now i feel like an ***)

i tired putting everyhting back together and my computer turns on but there are no BIOS beeps and it freezes at the blue "HP" screen (before it even shows the BIOS system check screen). i put my old ram stick back in to see if it was just the ram, but i still have the same problem

all the master/slave IDE cables are connected correctly and there is power running to all 4 drives, however there are a few random wires just kind of hanging around and im not 100% sure if they were being used or not before i pulled them, but i had two of my friends check it out and they said they thought everything looked ok

i pressed the num lock key to see if it lights up (to check if its frozen) and it works for about 4 seconds before it freezes up)

any ideas what may be causing this?

2. eggs

eggs Thread Starter

i found this info about my model computer:

Base processor and speed
    AMD T-bird 900 MHz processor (Slot A)
    Maximum HP supported replacement: AMD T-Bird 1 GHz
    Chipset
    AMD Irongate Chipset

Memory
    Component
    Attributes

RAM (standard)
    128 megabytes (MB) PC 100

Maximum