1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Problem with right click & drop down menus - blank or won't drop down

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by catsfeelinggroov, Apr 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. catsfeelinggroov

    catsfeelinggroov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hi hope you can help and my apologies in advance for lack of using the proper tech words for things.

    About a week ago I started to have problems with my right click menus, drop down boxes and ability to close browser and browser popups.

    The problem is intermittent and seems to happen once I have been online for a while rather than at start up.

    When I right click, the menu either doesn’t come up at all, or is empty, ghosted out, with just a vague outline of the frame.

    When I encounter a drop down box option, I click on it and no menu drops down.

    And as said above, when this is happening, I have to close browser and pop up boxes via the task manager.

    When this started I immediately did 2 full virus scans, spybot & adaware scan, plus I downloaded Malwarebytes Anti Malware and did a full scan with one find, details below:

    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.45
    www.malwarebytes.org

    Database version: 3979

    Windows 6.1.7600
    Internet Explorer 8.0.7600.16385

    12/04/2010 12:46:36
    mbam-log-2010-04-12 (12-46-36).txt

    Scan type: Quick scan
    Objects scanned: 103123
    Time elapsed: 3 minute(s), 3 second(s)

    Memory Processes Infected: 0
    Memory Modules Infected: 0
    Registry Keys Infected: 0
    Registry Values Infected: 0
    Registry Data Items Infected: 1
    Folders Infected: 0
    Files Infected: 0

    Memory Processes Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Memory Modules Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Keys Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Values Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Data Items Infected:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer\NoActiveDesktopChanges (Hijack.DisplayProperties) -> Bad: (1) Good: (0) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

    Folders Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Files Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)


    I have also updated all the latest updates for Windows and I did a scan on the recommended link on this forum, Secunia Software which showed me I needed some updates on Adobe products.

    I also bought Uniblue’s Registry Booster which identified the following:

    “the ordinal 96 could not be located in the dynamic link library SHELL32.dll” and then subsequently started getting the pop up ‘cannot locate link browser’ come up when I tried to click through to links via Outlook email. This again seems intermittent.

    Sorry the message is so long, any clues as to what is happening here?

    I run Windows7 and Firefox and have Adblock add on (well I did but I removed all my FF add ons today as well. Help!
     
  2. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Try runnin a full scan with SAS.
    Download it from my sign.


    Follow the below instructions Carefully:
    1. Download HiJackThis from the link in my signature
    2. Run a Scan.
    3. Save a Logfile(On your Desktop)
    4. DO NOT FIX ANYTHING BY YOURSELF.
    (Fixing Anything Might cause Unwanted System Instability,BSOD's and Even Render your System Unusable)
    5.Copy and Paste all the contents
    6. Paste them in the reply Window
     
  3. catsfeelinggroov

    catsfeelinggroov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Antech, thanks for helping.

    I ran an SAS full system scan and upon completion it said no threats were found and didn't display a log file for me to paste in here.

    I also did a HiJackThis scan and this also showed no checked boxes but I was unable to cut and paste the log (it wouldn't let me).

    Incidentally, my weekly AVG scan ran this morning also and pulled up the following:

    "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\\AVP";"Found Adware.Generic";"Potentially dangerous object"
     
  4. catsfeelinggroov

    catsfeelinggroov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    [​IMG]


    This was what came up when I started HiJackthis scan.
     
  5. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Follow the "For Vista Part" i.e. try right clicking and running as an administrator.
    As for AVG, it CAN be a false positive.
     
  6. catsfeelinggroov

    catsfeelinggroov Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    The right click on the icon doesn't offer me that option unfortunately.

    Just an update: I switched to Chrome yesterday from Firefox and the 'problem' has disappeared. So am going to try a reinstall of FF and see how it behaves, if it continues then I will just go permanent with Chrome. So it kind of looks like I have possibly sorted the situation even though I don't know why FF started playing up for me.
     
  7. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Best of Luck and....Cheers.
    Start new thread if you need more help
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916696