problem with sound

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bopdude

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
537
Hi ti all, I have a problem, when playing video files the sound is very irratic I've tried re-installing drivers and run varios diagnstics but i can not find the fault. Any feed-back would be appreciated. I'm running a sound blaster card on a gigabyte board, loads of ram and stuff. Thanks in advance.:confused:
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
It sounds as if you may have an IRQ conflict.

Post a listing of your IRQs....

Start button, run, then type msinfo32 and press ok.

Go to hardware, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.
 

bopdude

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
537
Hi, my IRQ list is as follows 0 System timer
1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
2 Programmable interrupt controller
3 Communications Port (COM2)
4 Communications Port (COM1)
5 (free)
6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
7 EPSON Printer Port (LPT1)
8 System CMOS/real time clock
9 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
9 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
9 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
10 Lucent USB Open Host Controller
10 Lucent USB Open Host Controller
10 Lucent USB Open Host Controller
10 Lucent USB Open Host Controller
10 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
11 Sound Blaster AudioPCI
11 NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro
11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
11 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
12 Microsoft PS/2 Port Mouse
13 Numeric data processor
14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
14 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
15 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller

In my fumblings I've found that the audio works fine on

cd rom
mp3 file
and if I reduce the divx file I'm playing to the task bar ( still playing ) the audio problem clears up, it's only when I re-open the file that the problem starts up again.
I don't know if this is of any use but i recently dis-abled the old on board sound, thanks again for looking at this for me, very much appreciated
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Off-hand, I would say this is the problem.....

11 Sound Blaster AudioPCI
11 NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro

The sound and the video on the same IRQ which would make sense that sound would work independently from playing a video with sound.....

What was your 'old' onboard sound? And was it a Soundblaster that you installed?
 

bopdude

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
537
my old on board was " via pci audio controller ( wdm )
yes my new card is a soundblaster
I hope this helps you some more thanks
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Do you have anything attached to com 1 or com 2?

Have you tried placing the sound card in another PCI slot?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
234
try checking off the direct memory access box in your cd rom propertys box if it doesent help you can always uncheck it (dma):D
 

bopdude

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
537
Welcome to the " problem " supertech, dma is already checked on all of my drives, I tried unchecking, just to see, but got no joy.
AcaCandy, I've tried a different pci slot but the problems still there. The irq list still reads the same on # 11, is there a way of manualy designating an irq ? I just thiught of trying a dvd, I can't even get a dvd to play, on loading the software it comes back with an error saying unexpected fault, can not play back. Any ideas please, there was no problem before the sound card swap, maybe in my fumblings I've checked a box or something, I'll have a look to the best of my limited know how. Thanks
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Let's try this.....go to the control panel, system, device manager, and remove the duplicate items:

10 Lucent USB Open Host Controller
10 Lucent USB Open Host Controller
10 Lucent USB Open Host Controller

9 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller

Restart the computer......did these duplicates come back?

If so, restart in safemode, and remove them that way....restart the computer......did they come back?

Hopefully not......

Now, let's go back into the device manager and let's place a check mark in the box to 'disable in this hardware profile' for all of these items:

3 Communications Port (COM2)
4 Communications Port (COM1)
9 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
10 Lucent USB Open Host Controller

Then restart the computer.......did anything shift from 11?

If not, now try moving the card to another slot.......restart the computer......did anything shift? Try any and all free slots you have.
 

bopdude

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
537
Hi AcaCandy, before I start I think that the items lucent usb irq #10 is my 4 way pci to usb card, at the moment I'm only using one port though. Is it okay to skip the section in safe mode and go on to the disable items because they are not duplicates but actualy exist ??? Please tell me if I'm wrong on this point,
Thanks again
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I know that they exist, but they shouldn't 'exist' that many times.

But go ahead and go your route, I'm not exactly sure, but you may have to disable all the duplicates as well.....or disabling one may do the trick on all of them.....

We're only disabling them temporarily hoping things will shift around and be happy.

If you are connecting to the internet now with this same computer, once you disable the modem, you won't be able to......so you'll need to go back and re-enable it if you need to get online to reply back to this thread.......

*** EDIT ***

I just re-read your post....you've got a 4 way USB hub in addition to the onboard USB ports?
And nevermind about the modem note, you are using a cable modem.....I just saw Lucent, and thought modem automatically.....
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top